Nothing really interesting here..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Mussoorie
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have one more week in Mousourrie--A big Hindi exam the day before we leave and a paper due this upcoming Monday. Though the work load is much smaller and amount of free time is much greater than what I am used to--it has been difficult to find a space in which I can be completely alone. I really am completely enjoying myself and the moment--thinking often of how it is to be here, rather than how I am going to feel going home---but what must be the absolute most frustrating part is my forced dependence on others. Due to our surroundings, which will only intensify as we leave the very missionary based, British style Mousourrie, I must constantly be with someone whenever going somewhere. I find myself walking 20 feet ahead or behind at times, simply just so I can be with myself while in eye distance of others. Don't get me wrong, I am incredibly lucky to have such an amazing group of people to share this experience with.

Yesterday I went shopping in town with Lisa and her husband Kevin, along with their 3 year old twins. I am finding ways to spend more than necessary even in a place where my dollar is 40 times more powerful. We went to a Kashmiri shawl place where we could practice the art of bargaining and I have decided to have a tweed coat made for myself at this tailor who imports his cloth from Bombay and has some of the most stunning menswear and cloth choices I have ever seen (imagine Lord and Taylor's men's suit department x 1000 and all tailored 'cheaply' to exactly what you want). Both of them were so helpful in the whole endeavor and enjoyable to be around. I went back to the place today with them and a couple of the guys (Chris and Matt)( and decided exactly on what the fall coat is going to look like and it'll be ready for my fitting in just 2 days. Oh India, you kill me.

I'll try to limit talking about my consumption patterns on here---and I suppose in actuality as well 😊.

Once I get through Monday's paper deadline I'll get the pictures up!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb