Week 4


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Mussoorie
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday a bunch of us went out to Beer's (a 20 year old from the area that has a family who owns the internet cafe) house in celebration of his and Krista's (a girl on my program) birthday. It was relaxing and really needed for the group. He owns a huge amount of land that will soon be converted into a 23 room guest house. It was foggy and a bit rainy which is too bad because on a clear day the view from his hilled house is unbelieveable. We had a few light drinks, good Indian food, and some dancing. Our "compound" (ha) space has a number of rooms and then the outside area, but we are hardly all together at one time.

I'm starting to get antsy here, as Mussorie is a rather small, 'Western-like' town where EVERYONE knows about the program and can spot us wherever we go. Much of the time I feel like an intruder, and as easy as it is to call this place "home" because of the privledge we are afforded in our accomdations and with the town knowledge of our program---it is obvious that our time here is both looked forward to economically by the locals but you can sense a strong amount annoyance as well.

During the day I took a trip down to the more swank and commercialized area of Mussorie with Sarah and Sajana. It's a bit overwelming down there and every other face you see is white--but i was able to scope out a few restaurants that I want to eat at before leaving and have my first cup of coffee in India.

On a completely random sidenote: My roommate, Kacey, got her nosepierced for a little over 10 rupees (which would equate to about 34 cents) yesterday. So far no infection but I will have to keep you all updated. ha.


More later as the week goes on. We're supposed to be going to the source of the Yamuna River this weekend if it is safe enough.

And I'll post more pictures of the wedding etc. when I get a chance--but I think others are tagging on facebook.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb