My School


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Haridwar
May 3rd 2009
Published: May 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mrs. Nandi, the principal really wants to change the way learning occurs in the school and we are working hard together to achieve this.

I have been working at the bottom, nursery class, as we figured this was the best place to start.

There are 40 three and four year olds in this class and when I first went in, they were sitting in rows, with their bags on their desks doing nothing. Some were even asleep. The teacher was calling them out one by one to write the letters of the alphabet in their copy books. BORING!

Things have changed as you can see from the photographs.

I have made the desks into groups, bags are kept outside the classroom and there is a different activity on each group of tables, which I have introduced and taught to the teachers.

And most importantly, the kids are having fun.

Regarding the books for the library, (and a huge thank you to all those we have sent money and books) I am waiting until they all arrive from Australia and from book companies here, then they will be processed. A big job and if I don’t get it all done by the time I leave for Nepal at the end of the month, I will come back to get everything organised and make sure that it’s all working well. I will then take lots of photos to show you where your money has gone and what a difference it has made.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



5th May 2009

This is just awesome work you are doing....I am living in the US though I am from India.....and I just wonder I live such a selfish existence!!!!
5th May 2009

Many thanks
It's so lovely that I have touched a perfect stranger. Most of us in the west live very selfish existences. Don't feel bad, maybe one day you will be able to do something for your countrymen. I consider myself lucky to be able to do this and believe me, the kids give me so much more than I give them. I am honoured to be here.
8th May 2009

I've just spent a lovely 1/2 an hour catching up on all the blogs I haven't read for a while. Thanks so much for giving us some insight into how much difference little things can make. I think inside many of us is a need to do what you are doing but very few of us actually get up and do it. You have a special gift!
13th May 2009

Loving every minute!
Dear Pauline, thank you so much for your kind comments. I am really the lucky one. I am in a position where I can actually do this. Wow! I am meeting wonderful people, perhaps making a few lives a little brighter and getting so much out of it, it is incredible. I would say to anyone who is thinking of doing something like this, DO IT! You get more than you give. By the way, new blog updates soon, just got back from Shimla. What a great place.

Tot: 0.481s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.3943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb