So what am I doing here?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Dehradun
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Building a ForestBuilding a ForestBuilding a Forest

Doesn't look like any forest I've ever seen
I figured that it was time to show you what I am actually doing over here in Dehradun, besides playing tourist.

I'm getting my learning on!!!!!!!

See here's the proof. :P

So far I've learned about DNS and DHCP servers, OU's (organizational units are like filing cabinets or trash cans), GPO's (group policy objects tell you what you can or can't do), Active Directory, Domain Controller, and 9 million other things that sound just as mysteriously boring. I'm surprised at how much I have retained, but to be honest there's so much more to learn. I don't think it will ever end. That's actually OK.

The normal routine is this....

We are picked up in the morning and by about 9ish, after we have a cup or 3 of tea/coffee we begin class. Then we go through the labs, try to stay awake and take a long walk to get more tea all in the vain attempt to stay awake. It's not because my instructor is boring, it wouldn't matter if he came in wearing a clown suit we would still struggle to stay awake. Hey that's just how it is when you're just sitting there. Lunch is from 1-2pm, once we're done eating we sit outside and enjoy the sun while talking about our exams or plans for the weekend. Then for the next 2-3 hours we repeat the morning ritual. Lecture, tea, labs, tea, and fight to stay awake until it's time to leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Explaining...Explaining...
Explaining...

I'm to figure out why the parent domain and the child domain aren't working. The PDC had me stalled, and it took half a day to get it going right.
Discussing child domainsDiscussing child domains
Discussing child domains

Trust me, they are just as stubborn as the real thing!


22nd November 2008

Look at you! Becoming a computer whiz! That's awesome! Honestly, I have no idea what the computer terms you mentioned mean. However, now I know who I will call if my home computer ever crashes!
22nd November 2008

Now I believe you! ;)
So it's not all fun and games is what you're telling us. :D I'm surprised you're head isn't twice as big with everything you've learned since you've been there. You're almost done, though. Whew!
23rd November 2008

Try this
When in doubt run DCPROMO!!!! So why didn't you just google your problem???? :P
23rd November 2008

dcpromo
i did run dcpromo :P anyway who needs google when my instructor was sitting next to me.
23rd November 2008

LOL Jen.... I might actually end up making it worse!
23rd November 2008

My head better not be any bigger!!!! It feels soooo good to know that there's only 2 more exams left. :)

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb