The highlight: the Taj Mahal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
June 3rd 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow! So much culture to process and absorb! We traveled by shanty towns on our way out of Delhi. So many people living so close in those conditions and yet they at least had electricity provided by the government. But they try to find any way to make money selling anything they can on the roadside or using monkeys to try and get tourists to pay to make a picture of them.

The major highlight of the trip was today. Of course, the Taj Mahal. There are no words to describe the magnificence of this marble structure up close. The perfect symmetry, the intricate design work and inlaid precious gems, and all done for love. We were there at sunset and it was crowded but not unbearably so. It took us about 30 minutes in line to get inside the Taj and I didn't have to wait long for the Princess Diana's bench, although I did have to push one Indian guy who cut ahead of me. I did that all for my friend Janet.

I've learned so much about the people and culture here which I'll share some later. We've had some internet issues so I want to send this along as fast as I can.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Mosque along side of Taj MahalMosque along side of Taj Mahal
Mosque along side of Taj Mahal

another one, empty and unused, had to be built on other side to keep symetry


6th June 2011

Question
Was the Princess Di bench for me or pushing the Indian guy out of the way for me? Just wondering.

Tot: 0.472s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb