Days 21, 22, 23 & 24 The Long Awaited....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
August 6th 2005
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Namaste (<-- that means hello in hindi)

Greetings from Agra! After much anticipation...we have just returned from the Taj Mahal! The experience was grand! Eveywhere we go we are treated like movie stars...children come to greet us...people want their photos taken with us...it is all a bit surreal. The Taj was splendid and although I we are only able to see the grand monument once (Kristi tragically we are only able to see the Taj in the late afternoon before we depart early tomorrow morning, but thanks for all your grand suggestions!) the event is one I am sure I shall never forget.

I know both Owen and Marie will never forget their visit to the Taj, as Owen proposed to Marie and she accepted! Tonight we will all celebrate. A very happy and romantic occassion!

So much has been experienced (and alas I am well..thanks for all the thoughts of wellness!) that my head feels that it can hold no more experiences. I fear that my stellar memory will soon fail as my head is now completely full. Imagine that!

Since my last entry I had the others worried, as I stopped off after my a day of illness to add to my blog and the others grew quite concerned. Vipull was sent out to find me...fortunately I was near the hotel. I felt quite bad about worrying the others.

The next morning we went to a small village and stayed in a heritage property. It was a lovely experience staying in a fort...but we were all eager to return to air conditioning. Once again we are all experiencing what it feels like to melt.

After Pachewar (the village where the heritage property was located) we traveled to Jaipur, the pink city. We saw many of the famous sites, while continuing to melt. Everything is truly a blur in my memory. My experiences and interactions with the other people in my group are what linger in my head. I am quite fond of this group...dare I say, perhaps even more so than the last. Perhaps that is because they are present while the others are absent. The other images that remain in my head are what I see as I pass the landscapes...whether that be in the city or in the countyside. Cows everywhere (as the cows are holy animals and held in highest regard)...garbage...very fragrant smells (not the best smelling fragrance I might add)...people squatting in the streets or countryside using the out-of-doors for a toilet...and despite what might seem unappealing, it is all so intriguing. Admist the chaos there is immense beauty. Indians have amazing smiles...their bright teeth against their dark skin is a lovely contrast. Warm and friendly...and extremely curious. I like India a lot.

Well, we must depart for dinner...I hope all is well!

With love from Agra!

p.s. Lawrence, haati is the hindi word for elephant 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



7th August 2005

I sense from your last blog that you grow weary Wen, refoucus and put more effort into your next entry-I insist! I know how you feel, you are entering the stage when you just want to come home. Undersand that chances like this come around once or twice in a lifetime and remember not to be homesick and savor the moment. Home is boring compared to your grand adventure. Keep your chin up and enjoy yourself! Troy

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb