Snails


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
February 9th 2013
Published: February 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The rollercoaster continues. So many frustrations and excitements, misstep and successes to share. But in this post I will be brief. I think this story deserves an entry of its own.

Last weekend, eight of the older girls were interviewed by ABC/Univision. Another ASTEP volunteer and I were asked to help the girls practice for the interviews, which were to be done over skype. I am so grateful I had the opportunity to do this. In talking about the questions they would likely have to answer, I was privileged to know more about these incredible young women than I could learn in class. They were all very articulate, expressing their thankfulness for the present and their hopes for the future. When I asked them what they want to do after they graduate, they all spoke of going to college—remarkable when you consider that they will be the first in their families to finish high school, if any education—and they all spoke of helping others with their education. I was amazed by the grace and gratitude each girl exhibited. There are few children in the States who will speak of their education as a privilege and responsibility. Hearing them speak made me proud of the school and excited to be here.

One student said something like this when she was asked why she wants to study literature: “I love poetry, because it helps you understand other people and their emotions. I can get to know a lot of different people. My parents really wanted me to study business or science. I want to prove that I can be myself <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">and be successful.”

Later when she was asked what it means to her to be the first in her family to receive an education, she said something like this: “There are so many 'He's the first's. 'He is the first to the moon.' 'He is the first to win the contest.' There are so many times when a 'he' is the first. But 'She's the first,' is new and exciting. When I think about being the first to graduate high school and that I am a 'she' I am so grateful and excited. So excited. At first coming to school here seemed like a burden. I had to study all the time, even when I went home I had to study. Because my parents expected me to do well. Because I was the only one getting an education. So I felt a lot of pressure. But then I realized that I was a snail and my education is my shell. It is heavy and I have to carry it everywhere, but it is also my protection. What allows me to live.”





<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Thankful for…

Articulate teenagers

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb