Trip to Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary with just Rs. 100


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
March 12th 2012
Published: April 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

'Yes, you can go to Vedanthangal alone'

This was the first statement from my wife as I woke up.But I knew there were some hidden constraints underneath.

'What's the condition?',i asked

She smiled and said,'No camera (except ur cell phone),your budget would be 100/- and still need to write a blog with photos,once you come back'

I said yes,but I was thinking how to make it possible.

I started from my place in Chennai around 10am.Before that I took 3 cigs: from my packet and she deducted 15/- for that,so I was left with just 85/-.

I knew the route,so it wasn't difficult for me to point the place but the 'big' question was how to make it with just 85/-.

I took a bus/train and reached Chengelput bus stand.This was a funny place. And even though I could speak Tamil,people were finding it too hard to understand me. After a lot of questions exchanged,One guy just pointed a 'V' and left.I was sitting at the Chengelput bus stand and decoding what the big mystery behind this 'V' was. Suddenly,I saw a bus '121V', brain clicked, and I asked the conductor whether this was going to Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary. The guy said in pure Tamil out which i could figure out only 'Padalam'. I heard about this place before so hoped in. The bus dropped me at Padalam Junction. It was like a small 'Freeway spot' with a few shacks around. There were absolutely nothing else. I knew I had to go another 15km from this place to reach Vedanthangal. With no options left,I started walking. Suddenly, i saw one auto fellow with a few passengers just whisked me from behind.I asked him whether he knew about Vedanthangal BS. He nodded,i again hoped in. This vehicle was overflowing with local crowds. And with someone's generousity I managed a corner somewhere inside.I didn't know I was actually on someone's lap that too an old lady. God !! Finally,he dropped me at Vedanthangal Sanctuary around 2pm and surprisingly I was the only person showed up.

I got the tickets and went inside. 'God !! where is this place',was my first interaction. All I could see 'birds'. The world starts and ends here with 'birds'. I didn't know from where they are which class they belong to,but all colorful 'Avians' greeted me wiith their wings flapping in this scorching afternoon. With my knowledge,I could spot Painted Storks,Open Billed Storks, Blue Heron and so many. And once I climbed up the watch tower it was 'all white' as far I could see. Most of the birds were busy picking twigs for their nests or nurturing their egss. I spotted some storks with a very unqiue posture. I wasn't sure whether they were showing their 'rear window' to me. After spending 4 hours, I followed the same route way back home. Yes, you would be asking me, whether I could make it within 85/-.

Here's the list :

Bus to Guindy Rly Stn - 5/-
Train to Chengelput - 10/-
Bus to Padalam Junction - 7/-
Auto (in share) - 10/-
Ticket in VBS - 5/-
Return to Chengelput by bus from VBS - 7/-
Train to Gunidy - 10/-
Giundy to my 'home sweet home' by bus - 6/-
I bought a bottle of water - 12 /-
And 2 packs of small Parle Gs - 8/-


So it comes to 80/-.

I still had 5/- left, so I bought a rose for her and said,'I've made it and this one for you'.

Thanks all for reading this !!

Sumit


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



22nd November 2013

Trip to Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary with just Rs. 100
Hi Sumit, this is awesome writing, very simple but resources full. I just planned to go to vedanthangal BS, so i started to googling it out but i couldn't get a clear idea. Then i saw your blog article and after reading, now i almost planned the trip. Thanks for sharing your experience, continue the good work. with regards sudarsan vg
28th October 2014

worthviewing..
excellent commentary about ur trip with jus rs.100
21st April 2016

Awesome!!!!!
The article which I can never forget in my life time!!! Such a wonderful one; A challenging,adventurous journey with love :) Kudos!!!!!
23rd November 2016

You made it!!!
Sumit.. Nicely protrait your trip. After reading this, i am thinking to try it once.!!! Nice.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb