Mamahallapuran


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mamahallapuran
This place is a beautiful little town that I come to really like. It’s so different from the last place, Chennai, because people here are more warm. This area is popular for its many breathtaking rock sculptures. Amazing art crafted from just a slab of unordinary rock. Michelangelo, world’s most legendary sculptor, once said that the beauty is already within all of us, we just need to chip away at it to find it. Very philosophical of him, in fact it’s quite Buddhist. We are so influenced by outside factors (societal pressure, parent’s expectations, friend’s expectations) that we forget to look within ourselves to find what we truly want out of life. I, too, am influenced by outside factors and feel that my thoughts are contaminated by them.
Using meditation to be more self aware, I’ve realized that my ego is making me lose sight of why I really want to be an entrepreneur. Outside influence has altered my drive to want to be an entrepreneur. My ego makes me wants to show everybody that I can be successful in business, prove to everybody that I made it. Entrepreneurship is the riskiest and ‘hardest’ path to take in the business world, I want to take that challenge and come out on top. Ego. Also, even though my dad never puts any pressure on me whatsoever, I feel I want to prove myself to him as an entrepreneur. In all honesty, as an entrepreneur, he is a living legend in Taiwan. Besides the US, there are only two software companies in the world that reach the billion dollar mark, Trend Micro is one of them. I want to show him that I can reach that legendary status as well. I don’t know why I have that mentality deeply rooted in me, but it needs to be eradicated. Once again, I believe its my ego. Lastly, whatever company I start, I get a feeling that it will eventually come to Taiwan. My subconscious tells me that it’s not because of national pride but because I need to prove to this country that I am, in fact, Taiwanese. I’ve been struggling with identity in Taiwan for a long time because they call me American there, even though I feel nothing like an American. If I become successful in business, then the country would want to see me as a Taiwanese rather than an American so they could be proud. This is all egotistic thinking and bad reasons for why I want to be an entrepreneur.
I have thought deeply and found the true reasons for my desire to be an entrepreneur. Firstly, I like challenges but challenges that require lots of creativity, is something that I really love. This is the true essence of entrepreneurship where you have to really use your creative side of your brain to differentiate yourself from competitors to gain a core competence. Not easy, thus I love it. Secondly, I am really comfortable with the unknown. Many people like things planned out or need to know exactly what’s going to happen so that they can avoid failure. I don’t believe in that, I go with the flow and adapt to changes along the way. Failure has done great wonders for me so why fear it? Being an entrepreneur, you’re constantly staring into the unknown, not ever having a clear path set out in front of you but making the new path as you go. I am comfortable with that journey. Lastly, deep down, I truly think that I can be a great leader that can earn my teammate’s
rock carvingsrock carvingsrock carvings

so pretty
trust and respect. I put people above all else and learning from them is just as important as leading them. People say that the business reflects the CEO’s personality. I know I have a good heart and so whatever business I start from the ground up will be a benevolent company. It is important to me to work for what I believe in. These are the pure reasons of why I want to be an entrepreneur one day and I have to be sure that my ego will not deter me from my true motivations.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

New friends on beachNew friends on beach
New friends on beach

These guys ran up to greet us and were so excited to meet us! haha
colorful friendscolorful friends
colorful friends

Look how bright our new friend's clothes are!
SunsetSunset
Sunset

nice shot?
statue ontop of lily padsstatue ontop of lily pads
statue ontop of lily pads

look at this beauty! A nice statue in the middle of a big lily pond!
ShivaShiva
Shiva

Its Shiva!
Mustache friend!Mustache friend!
Mustache friend!

Check out our mustaches
Buddha-nesqueBuddha-nesque
Buddha-nesque

Legend has it that Buddha was born from a lily. Hehe.. just thought you'd like to know
PrettyPretty
Pretty

EVERY woman wears these clothings, its beautiful. I guess Brand name companies like DKNY woldnt be able to break this india market


16th September 2009

word on the Michelangelo quote
17th September 2009

Rae!
Wowww! Yo read all my posts at one go?? That's so sweet of you to comment on all of them too! I like your inputs buddy. Tell me whats up with yo lately, gimme like a mini blog version, haha!
17th September 2009

temples
I really like the temples. I should've gone on that Cambodia trip... sigh.
18th September 2009

Should've
That's just dwelling on the past dude! u got a whole life ahead of you, what makes u think u wont hit Cambodia one day?
6th October 2009

omg i know timilnadu! i wrote a grant proposal for a U.N. organization called Help Trust! they help underprivileged young women become more exposed to education. i'm so excited that i kind of actually know where you have been traveling! your posts are so refreshing...! :)
6th October 2009

Whoa jen!
Hey jen bao! I was wondering where you've been! I sent you this travelblog website longg time ago! i miss you too, hope you're enjoying your new life in NY?

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb