Wardrobe malfunction...Indian style!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Vellore
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I just signed on here to attempt to finally share some pics. I saved them from my computer onto a memory stick although one of the med students told me he had trouble getting the computers to recognize his. I boasted that I hadnt yet had a problem with that and maybe he was doing something wrong. I now am unable to get the computer to recognize my memory stick. boo hoo. I even just took a picture of myself in my pretty little outfit in front of the hospital. well, you'll have to keep waiting...maybe another computer will open up while i am in here...

ok so class number 2 also went well. I got a bit more done and even finished early! Each day I end up sitting in the campus canteen for dinner for like 2 hours. I don't know how it happens--its sort of like a Brower power hour, but without the unlimited food and frozen yogurt! 2 of the girls from Sweden left yesterday which was a sad goodbye for everyone.

Today I once again played the act of superstar PT. I kept getting called into everyone's rooms to help with their patients. One of the senior therapists even hunted me down in the computer lab to help him with one of his patients who happened to be an anesthelogist at the hospital. Ofcourse I performed miracles on him and have another fan! It was an acute facet dysfunction and was easily fixed with some Mulligan. He is originally from Delhi and was very concerned that I didnt have plans for when I go there or a contact so he is going to get me in touch with his brother who is a doctor there. (don't laugh-he is way way way older than me!) He really loves physical therapy even though its his job to do a lot of the more invasive treatments! We had a good discussion and how lots of other doctors don't understand the importance of PT! I guess its the same everywhere!

I found out that those who are PTs here didn't necessarily chose to be a PT. Most are pushed by their parents to be doctors and there is a standard test that everyone must take. If you score high enough you can get into med school but if not you are placed elsewhere. Some have told me they were disapointed until they began PT school and realized that is where they belong. They have also told me that there is an age limitation and if you are older you are not able to get into the program (sorry Bill!). weird, huh?

One of the med students was telling me that the med students here pay an equivelent of $120 for a year of med school. the rest is subsized by patient costs and grants and stuff. I guess the educators then get upset when many of these students graduate and end up going to other countries to work. They feel that these students should then want to give back to their community. interesting..

Ok so Kim drama of the day. The pants here are super super large and you tie the waist with a string (katie-think the pants that they had given you at willow spa!). I was sitting talking to the heads of the PT department when i heard a rip. uh oh. the string completely busted! so now i am sitting there thinking how i can get up without my pants falling off! i held onto them and walked to the bathroom and luckily had an extra hair elastic that i tied in a big knot around my pants. now i just have a big bump at my waist but its not really visable under my top. ooops.

So, I have already gotten in trouble by the advisor in my building. The towel they had given me was kinda skanky so I Ichose to use the one i brought and use that one as a bath mat to attempt to stop flooding my bathroom. i got a note in my new towel for this week that i am not to use it as a bath mat, but as a "bath towel". ha! in quotes for real. bad girl i am. and i paid my rent late cause i didn't know to pay it. again oops.

Tonight we have decided to mix up some colored powder and get water guns and have a fight. it is something that is done during festivals but we want to do it now (i made up the water gun part to make it more fun). tomorrow morning we are heading to Pondicherry-a small french colony on the coast! can't wait! i am even going to attmept indian wine although i am sure it is nasty!! its been over a week since i've had anything to drink...and desparate times...

i am going to attempt some pics now...otherwise...luv ya all!!

Advertisement



18th January 2008

wine...
Wine can never be nasty....remember that....some is just better than others....just like cheese and chocolate!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb