The whistling thrush and the egrets


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Thanjavur
November 25th 2007
Published: November 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

When I was chattering on about wildlife, how could I have forgotten my favourite whistling thrush, heard every morning in the Rainforest Retreat, and once at Gurukula?

Early in the morning, as dawn breaks there, a whistling thrush breaks into voice. Just the one bird, who sounds just like some very contented man, hands in pockets, ambling down the street, whistling carelessly and happily, without bothering to keep to any particular kind of tune. It made me so happy whenever I heard it.

And the white egrets, keeping the cattle company in the fields, relieving them of their ticks and flies are another cheering sight. I've even seen a few with urban cows.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb