Final Chapter


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Puducherry
May 4th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Loves,

Well, it feels like things are winding down for me as I enter my final week of travels. I've been in Pondicherry (Puducherry) now since last Wednesday after leaving the crazyness of Bangalore far behind. It was an 8 hour overnight bus ride to the Eastern Coast this time. Pondicherry is a moderate sized town with colonial French influences and is the place where Pi Patel is from if you're familiar with the novel Life of Pi.

I arrived at 6:30 in the morning and it was hot already so my travelling friend Devon and I decided to splurge for an AC room, which was only about a dollar more. May/June is the hottest time of year for South India and I think this is the hottest place I've been so far. I don't know the numbers but just know its hot enough to be never fully dry, often the sweat dripping off my face. Like a permanent sauna!

There are quite a lot more Westerners here than any other place I've visited, I think because of the draw of Auroville close by. Auroville is a unique city, the manifestation of a vision of the Mother and Sri Aurobindo of human equality and communal living. It's a beautiful place that I can't quite describe in words.

Devon and I were taken there by two policemen on their motorcycles, an experience worth noting considering the traffic rules leave much to be desired. Each time I get into a vehicle is a lesson in letting go of fear and trusting I will reach my destination safely! The streets are a zoo of cows, goats, people, bicycles, motorcycles, cars, buses, trucks...somewhat organized madness!

My camera stopped working when I got some water on it and I went to a shop to get it fixed the first day here but no luck. Instead, we got an invitation to an Indian Christian wedding the following evening that the shop owner Mr Babu was attending. So four of us ladies got done up in Sarees and accessories and went to the wedding like the locals, it was great.

So, no more pictures sadly but I shall share when I return home. I am off to Chennai this afternoon with another girl from the Sivananda Ashram for a few nights before Bangkok again.

I'm sad to be leaving India so soon, but I look forward to all that awaits at home!

Lots of Love,

Laura
xoxoxo

Advertisement



4th May 2009

the river
I've heard others describe traffic in India like jumping into a raging river and as you said, letting go of fear and embracing trust -- so as in life... your life! And what a particularly beautiful part of your river... thanks for sharing it!! Looking forward to seeing you -- yay, summer in Vancouver!! 0x0 dN
4th May 2009

Truly amazing trip you have had...I can't wait to see your sweet self....beach bbq volleyballhere we come!!! See ya soon darling, happy trails!!! XXX
4th May 2009

The final days.....
Laura, I hope you are enjoying each and every second and it does sound that way from all your updates. I can't believe it is nearly time to come home! I can hardly wait to hear more!
6th May 2009

The journey never ends
such an amazing trip you have had. From where I sit, Thailand seems a lifetime ago, but reading you blogs is a wonderful reminder that there is so much more out there. May the journey continue, wherever it takes you. Sue

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb