Ponducherry


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Puducherry
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright, I guess it's about time I updated this, since I know some of you enjoy reading it.

I spent a couple days in Fort Cochin, got a bike and took a ride around the city, was nice to get some excersise but the bike seat was as hard as a rock so wasn't the most comfy ride.

After Fort Cochin I got on a Local Bus to Varkala, bad idea... the Local bus looked like it was from 1925 and smelled a lot like a urinal. I was the first one on the bus so I thought I'd be smart and sit at the back and get a row of seats to myself. This was working out great until the bus hit it's first bump and sent me about a foot off of the seat and I came crashing down, so that wasn't fun. I moved up to the middle of the bus, a much smoother ride, but instead of having to deal with the bumps I had to deal with a man trying to talk me into importing rugs and doormats to Canada... no thanks.

So after a bus ride that seemed to take forever I got to Varkala where I just relaxed for a few days, did a lot of reading, nothing too exciting.

From Varkala I hopped on a train back up to Cochin where I got a bus to Ponducherry (where I am now) the bus ride was long... 17 hours... and people got on and off along the way, so I had several annoying seat mates, snoring ones, smelly ones, one who must have had 9 cups of coffee before getting on, because he couldnt keep still. But finally I arrived.

I got a rickshaw (pretty much a 3 wheeled motorcycle) and told the driver to take me to a landmark in the city then I could have a walk around and find a hotel myself. He decided otherwise, he drove me in the opposite direction to a hotel where he would make commission, I knew he was taking me in the wrong direction so I yelled at him and told him to take me where I wanted to go. He finally turned around and dropped me off where I originally asked. So, I got my bags and started walking, he decided to follow me, telling me he would find me a good hotel... I told him no, then I yelled at him no, then I screamed at him NO, and he finally got the message. This is nothing new, in fact it happens pretty much on a daily basis here, the rickshaw/taxi drivers are the most untrustworthy people I have come across, but occasionally you get a nice one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb