Dong Lee Made Waves At The Back Lanes Of Madurai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
March 4th 2013
Published: March 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I had a great time in Madurai on the 16 February 2013. The intention was to visit Meenatshi Amman Temple, Palamudircholai Temple and Tiruparamkundram Temple. I went there for two reasons, to pray and to photograph places of interest. Somehow this journey seems to have added something extra which I never thought to be, that is to visit my driver’s home and to meet his family and friends. They all called me Dong Lee, the Chinese kung fu actor in a Tamil movie, 7 Am Arivu.

I also met the Kamal Hassan Double, a stunt actor, now retired, a very friendly flower vendor with the most striking painted forehead just by the side of the main entrance of Tiruparamkundram Temple. I met my barber. He was gentle with my head. Pardon Me. The customer who sat behind me just gazed at me for a long time until I snapped at him, waking him, caught him in awe situation, everyone laughed, like he have never met a Chinese before. I found out that I was the first Chinese ever entered this barber shop and the back lanes of Madurai. The most wonderful moment I had was when I handed out coconut candies to the children that now I still can recall how happy they were. Enthusiast faces, grinning teeth, big eyes, tiny palms stretched out for the candy. Little ones always made me smile.

In the back lane, a lady posed as she washed her laundry, a handsome little boy bravely posed with me and family photographs of some neighbors, driver's family included which made my blog and my album a memorable one. Not forgetting my personal best photograph, leaned against the entrance of someone’s door with the colorful Tamil wordings on the wall at one of the back lanes of Madurai. Quite a model, Ya?


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb