Day 24 - Final Presentation and Creche Graduation


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
March 28th 2007
Published: March 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Final PresentationFinal PresentationFinal Presentation

Me discussing my findings with Mr Thulasiraj, Ganesh and members of the IT and Systems Department
My final full day at Aravind, Where has 4 weeks gone!

Yesterday I presented my final recommendations to Dr. Aravind which went really well. Dr. Aravind seemed genuinely appreciative of my work and our intended 30 minute meeting turned into nearly 2 hours as he engaged me in various discussions around some of my recommendations. Dr. Aravind is certainly one of the more open minded and receptive senior staff members at Aravind and fully recognises the potential opportunities to improve their organisation by learning from others.

Today it was the turn of my official sponsor, Mr Thulasiraj. Ganesh advised me that he had set up a session at 4 for me to present to him. What I didn’t expect as I turned up was a lecture theatre and a dozen or so staff members.

On my short walk to the lecture theatre I was intercepted by one of the junior family members, Deepa, who invited me to attend a graduation ceremony at 5 hat afternoon. This would be a graduation ceremony with a difference though - the graduates were 5 year olds who were finishing in the hospital crèche and about to start going to Kindergarten. Sounds
Cute or what?Cute or what?Cute or what?

They really do not make any ugly children in India
like an invitation I couldn’t pass up so I needed to complete my presentation within the hour.

The presentation itself went smoothly, the equipment behaved itself and the subject matter well known and rehearsed enough. No-one in the audience spoke with the exception of Thulasi. Not unexpected as he was the senior staff member so it was not really their place to comment.

Thulasi appeared accepting of my findings and provided positive feedback on the whole. He was noticeably more defensive around some of my more contentious or challenging conclusions - a trait which some of the Michigan students had also commented on in their dealings with him. On the whole, however, I emerged with the satisfaction that both Dr Aravind and Thulasi believe my work to have been of value to them and to be useful as a springboard for additional project work.

I managed to complete the presentation on time and Thulasi and myself made our way to the main Auditorium for the Creche presentation.

We were greeted by 20-30, beautifully dressed, 3-5 year olds. All children of staff members of Aravind which has been running the crèche now for about 5 years. I
Hat ProblemsHat ProblemsHat Problems

When he put his hat on his eyes dissappeared!
was sat on the front row and as the children arrived in procession they each picked someone in the front row and presented us with a small flower! There then followed a number of individual readings, group singing and the funiest, most adorable group dance routine I’ve ever witnessed. After all the performances, not to mention the odd minor fight, a couple of attempts to escape and also a fair smattering of tears, it was time for the 5 year olds to receive their graduation awards. Each one receive a Mortar Board, certificate and also a graduation sash with the words “Ready For School” emblazoned across their chests. A great sight, and wonderful photo opportunity.

Finally the children led us in a rendition of the national anthem and we all departed discussing which child we would take home with us!

A lovely way to finish my stay here in Madurai.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Not all smilesNot all smiles
Not all smiles

Not everyone was happy to perform
Their Big MomentTheir Big Moment
Their Big Moment

Dr. Natchiar presents a graduation prize


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb