THE SPIRITUAL SOUTH


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Kanyakumari
May 29th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Incredible Rolling Woman 19 secs
I didn't know much about Tamil Nadu, that is the most Southern state in India as only just arriving in the country am just getting to grips with Karnataka...but when I got invited to accompany my yoga teacher's family and friends for a week to tour the spiritual South of India on their bus, I thought why not....I really didn't know what to expect which made it all the more fun....

TOURIST ATTRACTIONS

We left late in the evening after the bus had been blessed with jostix and candles (as you do) and arrived at 6 am in Pallini to be woken up to the sunrise from the sounds of tribal dancers and musicians marching through the streets. What the *** is going on??? I thought as I looked through the curtains...

Temples, Temples and more Temples, all the way from Palini to Madurai to Kanniyakumari...I was truthfully not expecting to be that interested on a temple sightseeing tour. I thought best not to mention it as I didn't want to rain on their parade...once you've seen 1 you've seen them all right? NO! These were something else... These were massive ancient monumental buildings and grounds, that remained unchanged for centuries and were totally buzzing with life and activity like there were massive festivals going on. Don't think there were, just think they like celebrating... The first temple took almost an hour to climb up the steps with thousands of people...this in itself was quite spiritual...people passing out in the heat at high altitudes! Then queues to get into the temple (another hour) where there's all sorts of weird and wonderful things going on around you (check the video of the incredible rolling woman) and gorgeous views...then you get rushed in and out in 30 secs flat!!! But wow what a great 30 seconds..........................

OHM SHANTI OHM

What originally started as out as a 3 day trip turned into 6 days...not sure why, we didn't really plan to, but just kept finding new places, but that meant 5 days of sleeping on a bus. I started to go a bit insane, especially with Hindi music and movies blasting out all night. I couldn't avoid them after a while so sat back and tried to follow. I'm an openminded girl and after a while got really into the vibes...but we only had a limited amount with it was all on rotation, and I now have wailing hindi pop tunes stuck in my head for the rest of eternity


LANDS END - EUPHORIA

We got to the Southern tip of India on day 4, a tiny seaside town called Kanniyakumari. It surpassed everything I've seen so far in India. We arrived at 5am and made our way groggily down to the beach, there were so many people there waiting for the sunrise. It was absolutely breathtaking, and amazing atmosphere everyone was going crazy and yelling...Later, we stood at the cross of the Arabian Sea, Bay of Bengal and Indian Ocean all merging in to each other as we jumped the waves with loads of Indian holidaymakers. The whole place was euphoria. Who needs Goa?

BACK TO CLASS

Arrived back in Mysore to a bed, where I could stretch my legs out and everything! (it's the little things in life you take 4 granted huh) I can't believe I'm half way through my yoga teacher's training course already. I've come so far in a short space of time, I'm getting really confident now with my postures and learning so much background behind it all. I'll be taking my own classes soon, am looking forward to it but a little apprehensive as I have to remember so many different Sanskrit chants. I have not had a drink for 3 weeks now, this is how serious I am about it (anyone that knows me will vouch 4 that.) Jebby just got offered a job in Dubai at Gems of Yoga, she's so happy, she'll be off next week to start a new life. Good for her...another 3 weeks and it'll be time for me to move on. Got to try and stay 1 step ahead of the Monsoon...I thought it started yesterday and I was told that no it was the rain b4 the Monsoon season. Can't wait. I'm thinking Kerala and Gokarna beaches, then Sri Lanka.

Until next time....


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Sunrise at KannyakumariSunrise at Kannyakumari
Sunrise at Kannyakumari

this statue and temple has special significance for yogis


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb