Wash Your Face


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Coimbatore
June 24th 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

"When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you." -Matthew 6

I decided to stop growing a beard and shave so that I don't look like a mountain man. If the Indian brothers can shave and look presentable, than so can I. My low maintenance look can sometimes come off as tired, lazy, and disrespectful. Except now my look is more like I scraped broken glass across my face. We're off to a meeting soon and it looks like I got attacked by some wild hens! I'll post a picture tonight when we get back.

Love you all!!!
Ben


Hello all😊
Well, I hope that you all get a great laugh out of Ben's latest post, I sure did!!

It's been a GREAT week so far, the weather here is nicer (cooler) and we've been very busy meeting diciples in their homes. It's so convicting to see how happy they are to have a place to live which is smaller than some bedrooms in America. I'm not kidding, these houses can be pretty small yet they are not discouraged in the least. Titus 2:12 says to say no to "wordly passions"; it's so true. Worldly belongs (passions) are so disappointing!

We are getting ready for our mid-week lesson, prayerfully this goes well!

Love you all!
Mitch

Advertisement



24th June 2009

Clean
I think your trip (and the wonderful pictures your taking of the people) proves that happiness isn't measured in square feet and neither is a clean shaven face the reflection of a clean heart. We're so proud of your heart! Love and prayers, Grandma Sally
24th June 2009

Sounds great
Wow! Ben shaved on a mission trip? Miracles really do happen, LOL. Debbie, Mitch and Laurel, I'm soooooooooo incredibly proud of you. You are doing things that I know are WAY out of your comfort zone. Ben and Phil, you are awesome too, but know guys know what I mean. I know all your lessons will impact the church. You are spirit led individuals. God works through each of you in powerful ways. I love you all and look forward to reading more. chad
24th June 2009

Scrape your face
Hey Hon- I'm sure you look just fine. Unless you tried to shave using the top of a wall "barbed-wire fence type thing" (that's what Nate called it in 05)! I remember those tiny homes we visited. Sometimes I think I'd be just fine with less to clean... Tell everyone I am praying hard for you all to have great impact and to be safe. Love Jen
25th June 2009

wash your face
ben, you short note made me think how I need to take more pride in myself and stop being lazy... and not just in how I dress but in everyday things.. thanks.. Hey Ben, Jen shared your post today at church and there were some sisters there from Ohio I believe who were really encouraged about the Mission Team. I'm really grateful to be a part of a ministry with faith and service in action. We are praying for you all.. and realizing that we need to pray more for the churches in India. Hey Bennifer, I wanna go on a mission team! Big Everitt (ha!) miss you guys
27th June 2009

Ben's Face & Mitch's Hair
Alright Ben, now Mitch are you gonna cut your hair with something found and dull? You could leave a lock of hair with all the kids there that have been giving you alot of attention because of it. On a serious note. I am very encouraged by all your posts. I hope you are able to continue to share these little antidotes as you continue your missionary journies. Your stories help all us us "experience" your trip just a little bit more, and feel like we are kind of there with you. Love you all (miss you all) Mark
27th June 2009

Mitch, Wow! My favorite part of the India mission team in 2005 were our visits to the disciples' homes! It truly was a blessing to be greeted so warmly. It's amazing how God takes us from our comfortable lifestyle and allows us to witness a different lifestyle across the world! God wants us to be grateful no matter what we have! You are doing a great job! Go team! Christy Krawczyk

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb