Final Days in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
July 9th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey Guys! 2 days ago we said our good byes to all of our brothers and sisters in Coimbatore. We had an amazing time there. God also blessed us with a special treat in that it Coimbatore was about 10 degrees cooler than the previous cites and it was less humid 😊 On our last day there we had an all Kerala staff meeting. That was a great treat, because it gave us a chance to once again see all of the church leaders we had spent time with in the weeks prior. The entire Kerala staff wanted to make sure that we pass on their love and appreciation for the Detroit Church Disciples! They love all of you very much and are so grateful for your sacrifice in helping to support their churches.
That evening around 10pm we left for Chennai. It was an 8 hour train ride 😊 Thankfully, most of us were able to catch some sleep. However, it was important that we didn't sleep through our stop or else it would have been a 14 hour train ride 😊 So I kept waking up in fear that we would miss our stop 😊 We arrived safely around 6 am and then by 10am we were out visiting more homes of disciples. We had a chance to meet some amazing sisters who for the most part had unbelieving husbands. These women blew us away with their faith and zeal for the God and his Kingdom. Despite a lack of support and strong persecution from their husbands, nothing was going to keep them from serving God and through their example many had children who had become disciples!
Tomorrow we will have our final worship service here in India. Dinesh George from Bangalore is in town this weekend in Chennai and he will be preaching the Word to us. We are blessed to have the opportunity to see him and here him preach. Dinesh and his wife serve over all of India. While it has been a great three weeks, I am excited to come home on Monday and hug and kiss my wife and kids 😊 I miss them tremendously. Love you all and thank you so much for all of your prayers throughout our time here! Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Love, Collin


Hello!

The last few days in Chennai have been amazing. On the lighter side, we went shopping today for gifts and the traffic was bumper to bumper outside and inside the mall. I've never experienced anything like this in my life; it's worse than Black Friday. I purchased an extra suitcase from a street vendor because the original is busting at the seams. Chris talked the vendor down 200 rupees! Please pray it doesn't disintegrate because it's flimsy....lol! FYI - McDonald's doesn't serve beef and their chicken is dark meat only.
Tanisha


"when the spirit of the Lord is within my heart, i will sing like David sang..." It is definitely universal that disciples love 2 worship God very LOUDLY 😊 There are some who leads and have the leadership title and other who leads by examples of their daily lives at work or at school. Our Indian bros and sistas just love 2 worship the Lord in truth and in Spirit!!!!
Shout out to the book of Jonah its a beast!!!

- bam aka seema


Greetings from Chennai! It is the end of the day on Saturday over here. We just returned from choir practice for the service tomorrow. Had an amazing time with the brothers and sisters from the choir in Chennai learning new songs in Tamil and teaching them some Detroit gospel. We are sad to leave but excited to see everyone back in the USA! Love you all and see you soon!

Much Love, YBIC
Chris

Hey gang, It's a bitter sweet time for me. I love it here and I know that I only have hours left. I've made so many friends and connected with so many disciples. Today Paul and Smiley both asked me what my favorite part of the trip has been. . .I would have to say without a shadow of a doubt, it's the time I spent in small groups and one on one with the disciples here. I may have said it already on the blog or on facebook, but I can't even express with words how these brothers and sisters have affected my heart. I rode on another motor cycle. This time there was some crazy bobbing and weaving. BTW I'm still looking for a ride. . . I'm on the way back to Ann Arbor if anyone can scoop me : ) I'm looking forward to performing LOSER at church tomorrow. We reached out to some college students at the mall today. They asked where I was from and I told them I was from Detroit. . .Where Eminem is from. . .lol! We talked about hip hop and it warmed these Hindu kids up to be open to come out tomorrow. Please pray they show up.

Love ya

Chad

ladies and gentlemen. . . the moment you've all been waiting for. . . Gabby Davis!


The end of the trip is approaching.... so sad. Going to dearly miss all of the brothers and sisters here. Hope I can come back in two years and see them again. Will tell a lot more when I see you in person.
P.S- Dad I'll call you in Chicago and let you know when to pick me up.
Love, Gabby.





Advertisement



9th July 2011

Much love to the Missionaries
It has been such an adventure reading all you guys entries. I have been in prayer for you all and can't wait to hear all the stories face to face. God is so gracious and the DCOC is very proud of each and every one of you. Love, Shaki

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb