From Temples to Churches


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
March 24th 2010
Published: March 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hindu TempleHindu TempleHindu Temple

This Hindu temple was at one of the Leper colonies we dropped off rice at.
Within 1/10 of a mile of the YWAM base in Chennai, there were two Hindu temples. As Lisa, Nate, Jordan and I did a prayer walk in the neighborhood of the base, I really felt that it was not an accident at all that they base was placed so close to them. One day, these temples will be turned into churches for Christ. I felt that so strongly and that is what I prayed. That hearts would be opened and God would move in this idol worshipping, Hindu neighborhood. Soon there will be crosses in there instead of a god. People will bow at the cross and lift themselves to Christ and be forgiven. We really had a sense that in five years time, there would be a revolution for Christ in this neighborhood. God had already started to work through the YWAM Chennai base and started to shine his light.

As we walked by one temple, I heard eerie chanting and immediately I started to sob really hard and my heart hurt so much. What in the world is going on? Why do I feel so much pain about this temple? “I am showing you my heart and what
Hindu GoddessHindu GoddessHindu Goddess

This goddess was on the temple at the leper colony. I tried to research it but I could not figure out which goddess it was.
happens when people worship things other than me” I heard the Lord say so extremely clearly through my thoughts. So many times, the Lord has spoken to me what he is doing and revealed just a little sliver of his heart for his lost people. Some scriptures came to my mind that we need to remember to pray over so many nations.

Isaiah 25:1,3-4a
O Lord, you are my God; I will exalt you, I will praise your name, for you have done wonderful things, plans formed of old, faithful and sure. Therefore, strong peoples will glorify you; cities of ruthless nations will fear you. For you have been a stronghold to the poor, a stronghold to the needy in his distress, a shelter from the storm and a shade from the heat.

Isaiah 26:2-4
Open the gates, that the righteous nation that keeps faith may enter in. You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb