No mas Masa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
February 5th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had a pretty good night's sleep, ended rather abruptly at 6AM by my next door neighbour, whose door-banging and general loudness when he got up precluded any continuation of sleep. I quickly packed up my gear and checked out. The room in my new place is fine, with the only quibble being that my knees touch the wall when I'm on the throne.

Decided that a day of rest was in order, not to mention that Chennai is a little thin on the ground when it comes to tourist attractions, so my only departure from the hotel was to visit the nearby St Andrew's Kirk, a very pretty church that is apparently one of only three in India with a circular seating plan. The inside of the roof was painted blue with gold stars, and the rest of the interior was clean, cool, and relaxing.

Today's food consumption constituted a Bounty bar and a couple of chewy sweets.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

St Andrew's KirkSt Andrew's Kirk
St Andrew's Kirk

Stained glass window. Must have been installed wonkily ...


15th May 2006

kirk is church in scotish
hey.....i used to worship at this church (for 17 yrs), had my baptism/christining, first holy communion, sundayschool, junior youth (KYF), VBS............good memories. this was an awesome trip.........i'm jealous. enjoyed reading and the pics about ur trip. i'm suprised at ur ability to pick really horrible hotels consistently, all over india, there r really good hotels that don't hurt ur wallet.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb