terrorism only works if we become scared


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
November 27th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm in a train station, headed north to Karnataka state (little historical/tourist place called Hampi). I just found out about the Mumbai attacks by looking over the shoulder of some fellow reading a newspaper. Getting lots of love and concern (thanks!) but I am not scared in the slightest for five main reasons:
1)I had and have no plans to go to Mumbai (or back to Delhi, another potentially dangerous city)
2)With my beard and my lungi, I look Muslim (locals ask me if I am all the time, and most Tamils away from tourist areas think I am North Indian). Not that these bastards carrying out these attacks don't kill alot of Muslims, but I don't think I would be specifically targeted.
3) I am a Canadian citizen. Everyone loves Canada!
4) The Shiva powers I have cultivated here in South Asia allow me to turn myself invisible:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vibhuti

(Twice in one week I wasin't asked for fare on buses in Kolkata, and the people who collect the fare work on commission).

5) If I become afraid, the terrorists win. Seriously. The goal of terrorism is to make people afraid. I refuse to give any human being (except one) that kind of power over my mind. I only fear God, and my mother.

Advertisement



27th November 2008

A wise man fears the power of his mother.
27th November 2008

danger boy
Brendan, I'm glad you are doing well and are not fearful, but are being smart and careful. Remember that mosquitoes are a far greater danger than terrorists in India. Also rickshaws and cars. Also water.
29th November 2008

haha, always good to get free medical advice. mosquitos are the only creatures I kill on purpose.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb