Chennai - we're off to Thailand!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
November 5th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We made it to Chennai airport after what can best be described as a taxi ride straight out of 'Wacky races' - lanes of traffic with vehicles lane hopping constantly and slip roads where there was no 'slipping' just 'coming ready or not!'. There were even countdowns flashing on the only traffic lights I've seen - as they got to 5,4,3,2,1 the reving was manic and everyone shoots off in their very own grand prix - or at least for the 500m to the next set....I had several moments where I closed my eyes as we squeezed through gaps that i didn't think we'd fit through and avoided a pedestrian in the middle of the 5 lane road..... I've decided if I ever (and I dont plan to) open a taxi service in india I'd call it 'arrive alive cabs'.

before leaving Daphne's Gopi gave Pete and I a gift of matching marble Gecco necklaces and a small elephant (which will eventually be a pressie for my nephew...)

I think we're both excited about moving on now - Pete's had enough of being viewed as a walking ATM (as he's re-named himself), the staring gets a bit much for me too....

Here we come Bangkok!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb