ASIA!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I don’t think I’ve written yet about the Sea Olympics that occurred before we got to India…so here’s a little bit about it. We are divided up into “seas” and each one has their own RA. There are 9 all together, including the professors/staff/adult passengers who made up the “Vitamin C.” I am in Baltic, and we didn’t have very much spirit. But those of us that did made up for everyone else. The night before the Olympics we had an opening ceremony and a talent show. I was able to put my radio editing software to good use and made the music mix for our parts in the talent show and in synchronized swimming the next day. It was tons of fun and I got to know some new people in my sea really well, so that was nice. We had the day off for the Olympics and there were events going on all day. There were board games, twister, scavenger hunt, ping pong, tug of war, mashed potato sculpture, musical chairs…. tons of stuff. We ended up coming in 5th place, which was exciting considering we are a small sea and didn’t really put too much effort into all of it. It was a good way to release some energy and to bring the shipboard community together.

I’m back on the ship after my jaunt in India. It was fun, but I didn’t really get to see all that much. On the first day I went to a movie making company and got to tour their technical labs, studios and film school. It was really cool, especially because film is so big in India (India is the world’s largest producer of films,) and because of the film class I am in. From the beginning it was apparent that hospitality is huge in India. I was served coffee or tea everywhere I went and the people are so accommodating and kind.

On the second day I went to a women’s college. We toured the facilities, and got to go to their radio station (the only college radio station in the country…I think) and we left a message to be played on the air. I said hello on behalf of WJCU, and then the group I was with sang ‘Take Me Out to the Ball Game.” It was really funny. After lunch, we went to this lady’s house and waited for a few hours until out home stay families came to pick us up. I had met a girl from PA over the summer and we talked about doing a home stay together, and we did! We stayed with a woman named Prim (more constants follow, but we simplified it), her husband (who’s name I will not even attempt), and their 15-year-old son, Nittin. They lived in an apartment building, but owned their house. It was small, a living room/ dining room, small kitchen, bathroom and 2 small bedrooms. She cooked us some great food, and Amy and I watched as Nittin demonstrated how to eat with only your right hand. Let me tell you it is not real easy, but it is fun to eat with your hands and make a mess. It was all really great. That night we relaxed and talked with them, and Nittin showed us some of his amazing artwork and inventions. I was most impressed with the electronic lock he had put on his door…you needed a keycard to open it, just like on he ship! The next morning we woke up at 6:30 am and had a traditional Indian breakfast, which consisted of a vegetable mixture and some various bread like things. It was very different, but very good.

When we got back to the ship I took a nap and then went out shopping with friends. I bought some nice stuff. Can’t wait to decorate and give everyone gifts! That night I just relaxed and stayed on the ship.

Yesterday Amy and I went back to Prim’s house and she took us out to buy silk sarees. Most Indian women wear sarees. Basically they are yards and yards of fabric that they some how wrap around themselves making like a skirt and a sash. We had tried on some of Prim’s and decided we wanted to buy our own. I bought two. One was $10, and is a really pretty blue and gold silk, the other was only $5 and is also blue, but of some other material. All together I probably have 15 yards of fabric! We bought some other things, then went back to the house and had lunch and waited for Nittin to come home from school (they have school on Saturdays) so we could say goodbye to him. I am going to try very hard to keep in touch with them. She said that she just doesn’t understand Americans, they say they will keep in touch and come back, but they never do. Amy and I are both going to try. We said it would probably be at least 10 years before we make it back, and she said that was ok, as long as we came. I only really saw Chennai, and even then I didn’t see that much of it, so there is still so much I want to see in India.

Today I went to a seminar on public health in India. We complain about healthcare in the US and the costs and we really have no idea how good we have it. Infant and child mortality rates in India are huge, and individuals pay for 85% of their healthcare. People are working hard to curb disease and increase good health, but it is difficult. We heard from many experts and got to tour the facilities of the fetal care and research center in Chennai. Again, these people were so hospitable. They were so happy to have us and went out of their way to make it a great experience. The people in this country are so loving. They mean so well. They hate Bush and don’t understand the American way of life, and I can’t say I blame them. The more people I meet in other cultures the more I realize that as Americans we have no real identity, except for just looking like chickens with our heads cut off. I think if India could teach the US one lesson it would be so slow down and care.

Well now we are back on the ship. We have classes tomorrow and then tomorrow night we have our cultural/logistical pre-port for Myanmar. Then on Tuesday we will be there. We are scheduled to arrive in Yangon a day early because we have to hit the tide schedule just right in order to make it up this river to the port city. I am really excited about getting there mainly because I have heard that it is really beautiful and because I know so little about it. On the first day I am going on some sort of market tour. The second day I don’t have anything planned but I am going to try to go to a Buddhist temple. The third day I leave for my three-day trip to Inle Lake. I have been waiting the whole voyage for this trip. Aside from what was to be my safari in Kenya, this is the longest trip I have planned. We’re flying to the north a bit and then going to explore around this huge lake, with trips to the flying cat monastery and floating villages and gardens. I can’t wait. I’m sure I’ll have a big journal entry for it! On my last day in Myanmar, I am going on a local train expedition. It is a three-hour train ride around the outskirts of Yangon. I am really excited about it because in my literature class I have been reading Paul Theoux’s The Great Railway Bazaar. He is a fabulous travel writer and I highly recommend looking at some of his work.

Well I should be going. I am planning on just catching up on some reading tonight. Both for class and for pleasure. I am currently reading Life of Pi, and I am eager to read the second installment of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, which I bought in India. I hope things are going with whatever you are doing, wherever you are. Miss you!

As I have said before, I have a limited amount of Internet minutes. It is really sad when I go to check my mail and I hardly have any messages to read. Thank you to the few of you who write to me, but to the others, please send me something! I know you’re really busy, I feel really left out of the happenings back home!

Until next time,

The butterfly traveler


Advertisement



25th October 2005

your journals
Ashley, I am a mother of a girl on the trip, Carri Stec. I read every blog I can find and check them for updates almost every day. I have read all of yours and really appreciate that you and others take the time to write such beautiful descriptions of your adventures. It is a great way for me and other friends and families to have a peek into what you students are experiencing. I very much enjoy reading your updates. Have a wonderful experience in Myanmar and know that I will be one of the first to read it after you post it. I know that you are all very busy and have a lot of school work also. Enjoy the rest of your trip. It will be over before you know it. Thank you again, Vicki Stec

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb