Here in Chennai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
September 19th 2004
Published: September 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been in India for a few days now and although some of my first impressions where of shock and disgust at the way some people lived I'm now quite used to it all. Laura who will be volunteering with me got here a few hours before me. She's rarther quiet and says she doesn't want to travel much but I think she'll change her mind once she's been here a bit. Alex who works for the orphanage and is looking after us arranged for us to stay in a YWCA for a few days so that we could get used to India. I think we really needed that due to the weather, food and everything. Yesterday we moved into the orphanage and the room wasn't half as bad as I expected it to be. It has a fan, western loo and running water in the evenings. Also tonight I'm going to clean out a smelly old fridge in the kitchens so that we can have that as well. Being with the children is really fun (but tiring). We will be spending most of our time with the juniars doing craft lessons and helping them with their studies but we'll also be spending some time with the senior girls. On thurs evening we were invited to see on of the girls coming of age ceremony,where she performed classical indian dances. This was really fun. We hav just had the first of the monsoon rain so all the streets are flooded and it is now (thankfully) a lot cooler.G2G hopefully I will be able to write in here again soon.

Advertisement



24th September 2004

Ha! Found you!
Now don't make me Google you again! Is the weather good out there? No? Aww... ah well. Well, it's good that your last week has been interesting, because my freshers week has been quite substantially boring. And problematic. Such is life. I hope at least that you don't come home wanting to kill small children with your bare teeth, because that would not be a very good effect of this trip. Anyway, have fun!
27th September 2004

hey
hey carly sorry for the late reply.nice to know uve settled in well etc.. ill write soon love anjali;-) ps we all know who the other person that commented was ....

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb