Arrival in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
February 11th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, after a long 14 hour or so flight from London to Dubai to Chennai, I finally made it to India! At the airport, I had to wait around an hour or so just to get through customs and after that I picked up my bags and was greeted at the exit of the airport by Francis. We then went outside to where I was hit with a wave of heat and noise and confussion and finally made it to the taxi waiting in the parking lot across the street. Francis then explained to me that we were going to go to a hotel where I could rest for a while before an 8 hour train ride to Madurai. It was nice to be able to get a little bit of rest and take a shower before we headed off on a train. The train ride went pretty fast since I slept most of the way, we were in the air conditioned cabin which you think would be nice but turned out to be cold and I often woke up from chills. At Madurai we had dinner (it was about 8.30/9pm) and then set off in a taxi to Sivikasi, where Project's Abroads office is and also rooms for the volunteers, which are right down the hall. We got in around 11.30 or so in Sivikasi and I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. It was certainly a long couple of days of traveling and I could not wait to unpack my suitcase and be settled in for a while.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb