Last Day In India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
July 9th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,
This is our last day in India and Kylie, Shari, Ryan, and Alex have decided to join me for a brief blogging session. We will try to write from Paris again but I'm not sure about the timing of the layover.
There are two types of people in our group. Those who want to go home and those who don't. Jen and I are definitely in the Stay-In-India camp. We are just bummed that we have to leave all the people we met.
It would be cool if everyone in Detroit got to make it over here and see the people and projects that our church supports. That's not very likely but it has definitely motivated me to give more (and more often).
It's not like I'm envious of the lifestyle here, that doesn't make sense. But I also don't want to come home and tell people how horrible it was. It's hard for us to imagine living here and it's hard for these guys to imagine our life. It doesn't make sense to them that my monthly mortgage payment is twice their annual income or that people would even need a car for each person in their home.
We've seen tourists that go to the temples, get a dot on their forehead, and talk about how they have experienced life in India. We've also seen NGO volunteers that think we are just tourists and look down on us. But I can honestly say that my conscience is clear about the love that we have shown our brothers and sisters. The number of homes we've been in and the number of people that we have met that have never talked to Americans. It's nice to be able to fight the pre-conceived notions that the Indians get from watching MTV and Hollywood.
I will see you all soon. Pray for our safe journey.
Love,
Ben


HI everyone! I am here and have been having a blast. Thank you to everyone who has prayed for us and has sent us encouraging messages on the blog. Your support has been very much appreciated. I also want to send a big huge thanks to the church for supporting most of us on this trip. With out your help we would not have been able to have experienced what we have so far. Collin I have 30 some hours till I get home. "How are things going???" : ) Thanks again for everyones prayers. Hi Grams and Gramps, happy belated b day grams! Hi Beth Ann! Okay enough, we will be home sooner than we know! I Love you all! bye Kylie

Hi all! Again--thank you sooooo much everyone for all of your emotional and financial support. These experiences would not have been possible without you all. It is very sad that this is our last day...many lessons have been learned, many friendships have been formed, my heart has been challenged and mission accomplished. We will see you all soon...be prepared for many stories and lots of pictures. Love you all!!! :-)
-Shari

Hi, just wanted to say that I am alive. I am sick. I am coming home soon so see ya then.
love,
Alex



Hey everyone,
This our last day in India in Chennai. We don't want to leave (well some of us) right now but we've had a great 3 weeks with the disciples here. I want to thank Brian Perkins for making it possible for all of us to come to India and arranging the scholarships! I feel like the teens have really stepped up in our relationships with God and eachother (even though we had some ups and downs). Well, we have a long plane ride ahead of us so we'll see you later!
Love peace and chicken grease, Ryan

Advertisement



10th July 2005

Safe Trip
Hey Tim, Wendy, Kylie and Gang, So glad to hear your trip had been so successful and have really enjoyed hearing about all that you have accomplished over in India. Just want you to know that we are praying for your safe journey home and looking forward to more stories of your trip. Love you and miss you, Sis, p.s. Thanks for the B-day wishes!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb