A Special Guest Blogger!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
June 28th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everybody, Ben here with my good friend, Xavier!
He is an awesome brother in the Coimbatore Church of Christ and we have spent a lot of time together this week. I asked him to come online and write to all of you.
We got your request to hear from more of the teens and I have Ryan here to help. It's just that after a long day of serving, most of the teens can barely stay awake through D-Group, let alone stand in line at the computer. But I will try to work it in to a devotional about taking care of your family 😊 Also, we do read and print all the comments and messages and pass them out at meals for all to read. All I can say is that it is not easy to get access here in the hotel, half of the time the internet is down. And it costs money, too. We will still try to up the communication. Forgive us.
Everything is going well, today is our last day in Coimbatore. We are off to Kerala tonight on a train (not in a sleeper car). The Coimbatore Church has set an unbelievable standard of hospitality, I don't think any other church can out do them.
If you haven't guessed by now, traffic is very different and EVERYBODY (yes, including your boys) have gotten to zip through town on a motorcycle! It's tons of fun and Xavier is a great driver. I will let him talk now.
Love,
Ben



Hey Guys. How are u doing there, Im fine and Firedup here.
Thankx for ur great sacrifice u made for Indain Church, The people in Coimbatore Church are really fired up about ur works that ur doing here(Coimbatore Church).

these People has great heart for god. And also they did lot of things for our church, And by seeing that every one got convicted and learned that humbleness from u guys.

Im sending with them my Slide Show(For that u need MP10 & IE6+SP2), u please see that and enjoy our growth of Coimbatore Church.

Thankx with love
Xavier.
See u guys soon once again.


Hey Guys,
I finally get to write in the blog! I missed all of the other opportunities, but now i finally can write. What is there to say? We rode on motorcycles with some of the brothers through the crazy streets of Coimbatore. But everything here has been totally awesome. Everyone is acting mature about giving our hearts and serving to the brothers and sisters here. We went to a leprosy colony , Tsunami affected areas, and we also went to an AIDS clinic. All of this really opened our eyes to see how good we have it back in America. Today we visited a village and a woman there wanted us to give a permanent name to her baby! We thought it was too much, but we ended up naming her Ruth. It was really inspiring that she let us name her child. Jen prayed for her future and God's will for her to become a disciple. You wouldn't imagine how friendly and welcoming the people are here. Everywhere you go you can count on people to be staring at us Americans. We are having an awesome time here and we will miss Coimbatore very much. Much love , Ryan

Advertisement



28th June 2005

Ben & Jen
Hi Ben, I'm reall enjoying your travelBlog. I lookfirst thing in the morning and last thing at night. Jen I'm so sorry you got ill,I pray you are better. Ben all is well at work. ike is a great back-up. Yesterday I took 43 new residence and one lady is from Central India and I made her promise to come down and meet you. Marty Okers came in yesterday and looks GREAT! Starts back to work soon. Everyone in Marketing is fine. Lesia and I will golf a couple times this July weekend coming up. Building projest out back is really changing. Very exciting. Take care both of you and know I pray for every day. Love, Your Sister Anne M
28th June 2005

Wish I were with you!
Hey,guys! It sounds like you are all being excellent ambassadors for the church in Michigan (and Ohio, Shari). Thank you so much for everything you're doing. You can't imagine what a kick I'm getting out of reading what you've experienced on you trip so far. It's almost as good as being there and it makes me wish I'd been able to come with you. We loved the pictures and want more. Holland, Ben and Jen, the people at the office (Brett, Barry, Cheryl, Gary, and Karla)were excited to see the photos and wish you their best. Mary, I gave Cheryl the link to the blog, so she's keeping up with you. Holland, we miss you. Write and let us hear your stories. Andie is wondering where you are. Love and prayers, Luanne
28th June 2005

Amazing!
Hey everyone, We're praying for you so much. The comments and photos are incredible we can't wait to have you back so we can hear all the incredible stories. Keep up the great work. (Mary, do you feel like Mother Teresa?) Joel
28th June 2005

You guys are great ambassadors
Being over there truly makes you grateful, doesn't it? Our menial jobs here are considered great there. It sounds like you are truly doing God's work and letting your lights shine. I'm proud to say that you are from Michigan (and Ohio). Greg Moots
28th June 2005

Touching responses
Hi Everyone!!! I'm so glad to know things are going great in India! I'm still trying to get my passport and visa to travel to Japan in the Fall, so I know how hectic it must've been at the last minute to get everything together. And guess what, Ben? My friend at the UPS store took my passport photos for free! But about your blogs, they have been so encouraging. I think about how materialistic I've been this year, and it cuts my heart that so many people suffer more than I could ever imagine in India. All of you inspire me to really pray for humility and deeper love for God. How is it when you go out to share your faith with people? I know Lulu is glad that she decided to go to India with you all - it seems like a very rewarding experience that will definitely impact not only your lives and those who are in India, but all of us who read about your daily experiences and yearn to be there in the fight with you. I will continue to keep you all in my prayers, and I hope you all stay healthy! *Stacey
29th June 2005

I'm so encouraged
I think one of the most encouraging things is to read about the teens who aren't disciples yet giving their hearts. I'm sure that Holland, Sam, Derin and Alex will come back and teach the rest of us what it means to serve like Jesus. GO TEENS! big love Chad
4th July 2005

We admire your work!
We're impressed with your energy! You keep moving from one situation to another endlessly, and affecting so many folks as you do your mission work. Way to go! We change the world one person at a time! Shari, Patti's wedding was great, but we missed you! We're proud of what you're doing! Stay safe, Love ya!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb