Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
March 12th 2012
Published: March 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

08.00 Hours Saturday 10 March



After a disturbed nights sleep through barking dogs, loud music and the ultra loud call to prayer from the Jagdish temple just up the road it’s out into the streets of Udaipur .



But not after a further one hour shower to remove some of the Holi colour. Then a head and face shave.



It’s theCityPalacetour first after some snaps down near LakePicholaand of course a shot of The Lake Palace (of Octopussy fame).



The City Palace tour is a bit hectic as the place is packed with Indians as they are still on holiday from Holi, so it is a very slow going as at every turn there are queues of what seems like 50/60 people waiting.



It takes 2.5 hours to get round and as I exit the Palace I take some photos of what I am told is the setting up of a wedding. Must be somebody with money to have it in theCityPalaceand there is a very long table for the buffet with signs for food from almost every continent.



As I exit the garden a man with a women calls to me and I must admit I did not understand a word.



But he says that I met him inDelhi. I don’t think so I reply. His women companion calls to him and I hear some Spanish.



One morning in the Cottage Yes Please hotel inDelhia young couple came in for a room but did not care for the price so they left. As I came out I said to them that there were more hotels down the road and sent them to the Vivek. This is what he telling me.



I say his girlfriend has a great memory and they thank me as the hotel was ok.



We talk for a while and take some more photos.



We then head off for some lunch and swop travel tales and they buy me lunch again to say thank you.



They say that after the City palace and the lake that there is not much else in Udaipur. I tell them about the fort at Kumbhalgarh and the Jain temple at Ranakpur.



I tell then that I am hiring a car and driver for the next day and that they are welcome to come with me.



They are good to go, so we say goodbye for now and that I will text them with the details later.



I go off wandering the street for a while and go over the footbridge to the other side of the lake were I come upon a small shop selling post cards. I buy a few, some water and biscuits and they invite me to sit with them for some chai. They are called Rahu and Vidhya and I take a few photos.



I buy some fruit and biscuits further down the road so I am sorted for the journey.



Food this evening is a veg thali across the road from the Kesar Palace and a very good Lassi a yoghurt type drink. I have mine salted to put back some minerals.



Off to bed as the car will pick us up in the morning at 07.00 and it will be a long and tiring day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



12th March 2012

Udaipur
I love the photos of Udaipur, you've definately captured it's beauty, you've made it look warm and welcoming, I get the impression Udaipur has a laid back feel to it................

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb