STILL IN UDAIPUR


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
November 10th 2004
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nadine was the one who gave herself the title of 'baby of the group', and in some ways it fits cos it is a bit like having an excitable teenager along with you.

I find I can take Nadine in small doses, she's loud giggly, very scatty, (missed her initial flight, has no idea what the itinniarry is, doesn't take Maleria tablets because.... 'Well the local people don't do they?'), She thinks she might buy a house when she gets home, but maybe a job first, (though no views on a career), and wants to buy lots of Indian stuff cheap to sell when she gets home on ebay. She tends to interupt and likes being centre of attention, (except today when I've not seen her cos she's ill in her room), and I wax between finding her amusing to just DARN RIGHT IRRITATING!!!!!!!!

(Did I mention she has a loud 'SARTH LONDON' accent)!

As for Jamie.... he's a Mystery. Keeps himself very much to himself. Very quietly spoken, (so much so you have to really strain sometimes to listen to him). The easy explanation is he's shy... but I reckon folks label that on people too quickly and I think it's more the case he's his own person and rather private, so when he has something to say he tends to say it, and when not he'll say nowt or bugger off and do his own thing.

I of all people can respect that, but it does make sharing a room with him a bit hard going.

The way it works with Imaginative traveller is that there are no single person supplements, (which is great), but that does mean, depending on the group, there is a chance you'll be sharing with a total stranger, (which is all a bit hit and miss).

When I was in Egypt I was the only single person in the group so got my own room the entire way, (apart from those 3 days on the Fellucca when we all slept together on deck)! On this trip, (apart from Joan and Glen), we're all single travellers, so Nadine and Paula get to share throughout, (lucky old Paula), and between me, Jamie and Micheal we get to alternate the privilidge of a single room.

So for the first three nights, (Bombay and Ahmedabad), I got the single room, now, (one supposes for the next three nights), I get to share with Jamie, and that I reckon is going to prove harsh!

I mean I tried to make an effort, but after a while you come to the conclusion if he ain't trying then there aint much point in me bothering either. So instead I try and adjust my coming and going times to differ from his. This morning I got up early and went straight out for a wander, leaving him free to sort out his bathroom things, then this afternoon I've come back myself for a wash and brush up, and I intend to be out late tonight so hopefully he'll have gone to sleep by the time I get back, or I'll be so whacked I'll just fall straight to bed.

Anyhow... (it aint an issue, just part of the experience).

So as I said I was out and about at 6.30am this morning to see Udaipur wake up.

I went for a stroll by the Lake, where the locals were washing clothes, swimming, and doing early morning stretches.

Then I climbed up a steep hill to a hindu temple that overlooks the whole city.

The view intermixed with the sounds from the city below and the calls to worship was all very atmospheric and gave me a good start to the day. Got back to the hotel at 8.45am and met up with the others for breakfast, (had banana porridge, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and buttered toast... all about a quid fifty)!

Our Hotels improve with each destination. This one, 'The Maharaja Palace' is decorated in the local style, with outdoor courtyards, and upper balcony walkways.

If you’re ever passing through Udaipur on a budget this is the place to stay.

For what is regarded as a cheap budget hotel it has a uniqeness and style that makes a stay here a very special experience.

Our rooms have brightly coloured windows, and a stone seat carved below it, (the girls have even got their own Harvala, 'balcony'), while there is an unheated pool and sitting and dining areas open to the stars. This morning, (while all you lot have still been in bed mostly), we've been on an orientation tour of the city. This started with the Jagdish Mandir, a stepped temple to Vishnu in the centre of town atopped with two large marble elephants.

NOTE… Jagdish Temple

Jadish Mandir also known as Jagannath Rai Temple is devoted to "Shri Lord Vishnu" - The lord of Universe. This Mandir has a beautiful idol of Shri Lord Vishnu & Goddess Laxmiji. The main temple lower displace of elephants, horses, lions, depicts of the lipe of 11th century. On the four corners of the main temples of Shri Lord Ganesh, Shri Lord Shiva, Goddess Ambaji, Surya - The sun god. The temple also has figures of Goddess saraswatiji & Vishwakarma - the engineer of Gods.The temple has 32 stairs and is constructed in 80bt. high plinth in panchayatan -(vastushastra) style of hindu temple Architecture. This is one of the best and beautiful site of Udaipur. One fell peace in his mind & body after entering this great house of Hindu God VISHNU - The Lord of Universe .


Note to Micheal... Vishnu apparently had 1600 girlfriends, and yet never WAS STUPID ENOUGH TO GIVE ANY OF THEM HIS EMAIL PASSWORD!!!!!!!!

Next we toured the city palace. This is a massive complex, actually made up of various palaces and was home to the last 22 Maharanas in the region. It takes a lot of time to take it all in, it has some stunning scenes across the city, and architecture straight out of Arabian nights.

NOTE… City Palace, the majestic white royal building towers itself on a hill and is surrounded by crenellated walls. Udaipur City Palace was completed in its present form by the contribution of many rulers. Originally started by Udai Singh, the later additions were so carefully planned and integrated with the original building that it becomes difficult to believe that the building was not conceived as a whole. The city palace of Udaipur stands along the shores of Lake Pichola.

Approach to the city palace is through the 'Hati Pol' or the 'Elephant Gate'. The 'Bara Pol' or the 'great gate' leads to the first court, which joins Tripolia or the 'triple gate'. Between the two gates are eight carved 'toranas' or arches, which mark the spot where the rulers were weighed against gold or silver, the equivalent value of which was then distributed among the poor. Beyond the Tripolia is the arena where the elephant fights were staged.

The path then leads to a series of
courtyards, overlapping pavilions, terraces, corridors and hanging gardens- a harmonious profusion hard to describe.The soft cream coloured central 'Chhatri' has facing of blue coloured tiles with massive octagonal towers crowned with cupolas. The Sheesh Mahal has inlaid mirror work. The Krishna Vilas has a series of miniature paintings, which are witness to the royal processions, festivals and the game of 'Chogan'.

The Chini Chitrashala is famous for its Chinese and Dutch tiles, the latter of which has depiction of Biblical scenes including the flight to Egypt. Radha-Krishna stories are painted on the walls of the Bhim Vilas. The glass mosaic gallery with its superb stained glasses and portraits afford a panoramic view of the Udaipur city below. The Mor Chowk has a brilliant mosaic of peacocks set in the walls showing the three seasons: summer, winter and monsoon. There are exquisite terrace gardens with fountains in the Amar Vilas.

There is also a museum in the fort which houses the armour of the valiant Maharana Pratap and the drums & bugles of Rana Sanga, another Mewar ruler.

This afternoon is free and I've opted to dump everyone else.... (like I said I of all people can appreciate Jamie's outlook on life)... we've all just got a little too close the last couple of days and I fancy a break from everyone to do some exploring of my own. Also I'm on a mission! I want to do dinner at the Lake Palace this evening. It's the Hotel that looks like it's floating out on the lake and is fairly exclusive. (Liz Hurley is currently staying there you know)!!!!!

Everyone else turned there noses up at the idea on the basis the buffet dinner is 1500 rupees. THAT'S TWENTY ONE QUID PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!! I mean I accept that's a hell of a lot by what we've been paying for meals recently but really..... WHEN ARE THEY GOING TO BE HERE AGAIN!!!!!

Personally I reckon they're all just intimidated by the granduer of the place but what with my breeding and attention to stylish detail I should have no problems. So today, after dumping everyone on the sly, I scooted back to the hotel, had a shower and cleaned myself up and put on my best clothes. (Which addmitedly here are a clean pair of jeans, my blue Sydney Olympics T shirt, and that new pair of Nike trainers I bought).

The Lake Palace is of course the location used for Octopussy's lair in the film, so were I Roger Moor I would no doubt have packed a white Tux, BUT I DIDN'T HAVE ROOM IN MY RUCKSACK!

I then made my way to the Lake Palace booking office to see if I could get a reservation, which is at reception across from the hotel by the river bank. (They have a bloke in uniform who follows you around with a parasol the entire time your outside.... all very odd)! I asked the woman in the sari at reception if the dress code was strict as this was as smart as I was likely to get, she looked at me up and down, (I'm sure was totally unimpressed), but smiled and said I would be fine.

So I've made my booking for 9pm tonight, (which is great as that gives me time to watch the Sun set in the cafe on the neighbouring bank).

Right I’m off to the Bazzar now. Tomorrow we ared back on the roan to Ranakpur and the Jain temple, before spending the night in a heritage hotel by a small local village, (so you may not hear from me for a few days)!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb