My karma does not like Jaisalmer's karma.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
August 23rd 2006
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Which is sad, because I actually thought it was a really pretty city, and if things had worked out differently concerning weather, I probably would have enjoyed my time there much more. Things as they are, I like it a lot more in retrospect now that I'm out of the city.
Our second day in Jaisalmer we went to see a haveli, and shopping. There's a lot of good jewelry and and it was fun until it started to rain. There were torrential rains. At the beginning of the rain we wanted to keep going and not waste a day sitting inside. Aly found a carpet she eventually bought the next day. We went to a silver factory. On the way back from the silver factory, we got caught it what must have looked something like the beginnings of the flood Noah experienced. Jaisalmer is in the middle of the Thar desert, and is not equipped to handle that amount of rain. This was the quantity of water that we associate with a flash flood that lasted for a day and a half. The electricity was obviously out early on, the generators quickly followed. Water was gone by the next
The offending cow.The offending cow.The offending cow.

I think. It looks similar, but I was distracted by other things when I was thrown into wall than what the cow looks like.
day. Roads were covered with water, blocking all transportion. Train tracks washed away. Buses weren't going anywhere. We met tourists from all countries desperately trying to get back to Delhi to catch planes home, and simply just to escape the flood. Our plan to go to Udaipur after coming to Jaipur was canceled because Udaipur was considerbly worse as it was under three feet of water. (By the way, I may be wrong, but I'm pretty sure this is the end of the monsoon season and slightly in the wrong region. We haven't hit any rain thus far.)
When the rain finally cleared after a day and a half, the water had to be cleared from the roads before anyone could move from town. As we were walking down out of the fort to town, I crossed on the wrong side of a cow (which later pictures have not quite determinded gender) and was gored and thrown into a wall. Needless to say, I didn't react well. I'd like to imagine that up to this point I'd reacted pretty well to all the bad things that had happened on this trip. But I lost my shit. I freaked out mondo-style in the middle a square. It was not pretty. Looking back on it, it was hilarious. At the time, however, I was tired, and wanted out of the city, and I have now developed a habit to jump out of the way of any cow coming down the path towards me, because once you get hit by a cow, you do not want to repeat the process.
We met a man who owns a guest house in Jaipur who was likewise stuck in Jaisalmer, and we traveled with him as we made our way out of the city. We ended up booking a car that took us from Jaisalmer to Jodhpur. To get through the water still left in Jaisalmer, our car had to be pulled by a tractor and everything put higher on the seats to prevent it from getting wet in case any water came in at the sides. From Jodhpur we took a bus to Jaipur, all the while with our guest house owner, which made it very easy to find a place to stay when we arrived at midnight last night. We're now here, have a couple days before we return to Mumbai since we are no longer going to Udaipur. Then I come home and go back to school, where hopefully, I don't have to worry about getting rammed by a cow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb