All the touches of rainbow


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
March 11th 2012
Published: March 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

March11
Hey everybody! We’ve been abit naughty & haven’t written for awhile so there’s quite abit to catch up on!

As Jonny mentioned, we made some friends in Mumbai (its amazing how well people bond over upset tummies!) & although we knew they would be in Jaipur for Holi is was a nice surprise to see them walk past at the Elephant Festival.

So the Holi Festival adventure began with Ellie & Thomas, I would like to mention if I hadn’t put my arm around the tuk tuk driver, I would have fallen off into the road & possibly the excrement of one of the following, cow, dog, pig, goat, monkey, human, camel or horse. And secondly, I don’t think I need to point this out but the male member of the group to wear the girls harem pants was Jonny.

We wandered the streets a little & after meeting a handful of locals & experimenting with our own ammo after about 40mins we were covered & getting into the spirit of Holi.

Returning to our hotel to get drinks we were met by some very excited locals, some finding it a little too hard to contain their excitement. (While researching Holi, we & most other tourists had read & were warned about how overly touchy Indian men can get during this time) So after having to push them off of me the previous morning, maybe they thought I was just playing hard to get! I was then crowded by the same group of about seven 10 year olds. After they stole our water pistol & tried their luck at getting their hands on our paints they proceeded to wish us ‘Happy Holi’, hug us….& then hump the girls! The fact that I was around the same height as them I seemed the perfect target. I may be being a little naive here but I didn’t think boys of that age were capable of such acts!? I was very grateful to be freed as the pants they were wearing left very little to the imagination!

Needless to say we escaped the hotel in a tuk tuk & went to a party the government had put on, it was like our own little western Holi. They had music, dancing, paint throwing, food & drink. They let only tourists in, no locals so that the grabbing was kept to a minimum, however after wishing “Happy Holi” some of the hugs were a little prolonged.

We took a tuk tuk through the Pink City which is where all the shopping Bazaars are to see how crazy it was but I think by then a lot of the locals were nursing their early hangovers & it wasn’t too mad.

After our rainbow showers turned into brown sludge we got ready & had a lovely dinner on the rooftop of our hotel with Ellie & Thomas. Had a wicked evening then it was time for their bus. Hopefully we’ll meet up with them at some point when we reach South India.

To break up the reading I’ll write the next days events in a separate post. Aren’t I good to you!? I’m aware I ramble abit!

Speak soon xxx
LauraLoladayonholiday.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb