Jaipur: not actually the pink city


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
April 28th 2011
Published: April 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jaipur is known as the pink city. I pictured a city of delicate rose buildings, pretty and elegant. So it is a big disappointment to me that the buildings are more of a dirty orange terracotta. As the capital of Rajasthan, the city is also big and crowded and busy. And the rickshaw drivers are persistently aggressive for business, making every journey a hassle.

I don't like Jaipur.

I don't like the fact that everyone and their cousin wants to get us into their shops, and it's impossible to walk around in a relaxed way.

We do buy some stuff, as it turns out, but mostly in the lowest pressure environments, the ones where salesmen (it is always men, I don't know why) let us browse and take our time. There is significantly more shopping than previously, because after the departure of the boyfriend, I am now travelling with the ladies. My sister and a mutual friend. So we buy tops and jewellery. We stop for more lattes. And there is more gossip. Travelling with girls is fun.

Otherwise, sightseeing is a bit of a letdown. The only attraction I enjoy is the Amber Fort, the sort of architecture that it is obligatory to describe as majestic. Really, the best afternoon is the one spent by the pool, eating icecream and chatting.

After three hot, sticky days, I am glad to get out of the city and off on our travels elsewhere in Rajasthan...

Advertisement



7th May 2011

Quiet mood
Hello Marianne Are you too busy having fun with the girls or are you missing the boyfriend for the next leg of your adventure? Your blog has gone quiet ;-)... I hope Rajathan has not broken the spell.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb