trip to Jaipur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
March 7th 2010
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's 2AM. I woke up and thought I would do a little blogging since the one computer in the hotel seems to be being used much of the time.

Started the day with a large breakfast at Hotel Connaught in Delhi. Then started our trip to Jaipur in Rajastan. We stopped at the World War 1 memorial and Parliment / Embassy buildings on the way. Then the long trip on a 4 lane toll road to Jaipur began. Toll road finished 4 yrs ago, mostly truck traffic. Many interesting scenes of rural Indian life as we passed by small villages with cows roaming where ever they wanted to.

We checked into the Hotel Paridise on the outskirts of Jaipur about 4. Very nice hotel with large rooms and swimming pool on roof. We will be here for 2 nights. Then we went into town. Jaipur is a fairly wealthy City. We stopped to see the Prince Albert guest house. Then went to a very impressive, relatively new marble Vishnu temple built in 1980s by a wealthy buisness man. Then we went into the old part of town and visited an 18th century temple. Finished off the evening at a very nice Indian restaurant were we had an array of delicious dishes along with music and a dancing boy. Manie, our Indian tour guide, had much to say about the temples, deities, the Indian culture and traditions.

They didn't allow photos inside the Vishnu temple but it was very impressive. I did take some very interesting photos inside old Jaipur temple and at dinner but it now appears that I somehow switched my camera to video mode for these and they are too large to upload now. sorry... you missed a great photo of a fire ceremony and fellow Australian traveller dancing with the dancing boy ... along with turban.

Eating very well and having a great time.

Tomorrow we see more of Jaipur.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th March 2010

You and the birds
Hey, what a busy schedule. Nice to see that smile on your face with all the birds (pigeons). I talked to my Indian friend at work tonight and told her about your trip so far. She smiled and also told me about the Delhi traffic. It's nice to see you in the pics. Make sure you have more of those in your blog. Having you in the pics makes it seem more real. Have a blast. Enjoy!
8th March 2010

Food
Save some palak paneer for me. And maybe some puri too. The weather here is turning nice finally. In the 50's and sunny. Unfortunately working everyday. Had our big 10th year anniversary dinner last night. Catered dinner. Was very nice. I think I need a vacation. Or at least a couple days off. I am just going to have to enjoy your vacation. Have fun for me too!
11th March 2010

Hi again...I seem to be getting the hang of this blog. I am doing this all the same night. Sorry I have not kept up sooner. I haven't found your first night yet. How was that hotel? You look like you weathered the long flight well. I was thinking about you and wondered how you did. You got there so it must have been okay. Pictures are great. You are really seeing alot things. Have fun.

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb