Jaipur and the Elephant Ride


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
October 31st 2009
Published: October 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,
I spent the last week in Jaipur and Udaipur in Rajasthan, India. Jaipur is home to the Amber fort and the Pink City. The Pink City gets its name from its pink city walls, but don't let the locals hear you call it that or they will laugh at you. Apparently to them it is the 'Old City.' While I was in Jaipur a met a group of girls who showed me around their college and took me to their English Institute where they take extra English classes. I got to meet the students and help them with their English. They even taught me a little Hindi. I also got a chance to talk to local Indian women, which was a nice change of pace. Apparently women don't have as much opportunity to learn English as men do. It was nice to see the women's college as well, since Rajasthan has the lowest female literacy rate in India.
The next day I took a trip to the nearby Amber fort which is more like a palace. It is very labyrinthine and I got lost a couple times. The best part of Amber fort was the elephant ride. I doubt
ElephantsElephantsElephants

You can ride an Elephant up the hill to Amber fort for 570 Rupees.
I will ever have another chance to ride an elephant. I couldn't take a picture of myself, but for an extra fee they will take pictures of you. I got three of them. Definately a priceless experience, even though they charge 570 rupees.
After 4 days in Jaipur I took the overnight train to Udaipur. Udaipur is known as the Lake City and it is famous as a honeymoon destination. The Palace that is built in the middle of the lake has been converted to a hotel and you can stay there for something like 900 USD a night. You can also make reservations for a 60 USD lunch or an $100 dinner. Obviously out of my price range, but I did visit the City Palace museum. The Museum was nice to visit because it had a well marked one way path. No way to get lost.
Udaipur itself was a pleasant tourist town. There were many places selling hand painted silk. Some of the paintings are so intricate that you need a magnifying glass to see the details. There is a nearby craft village that is popular with tourists, but I didn't go because I have already bought way too much stuff. 😊 From Udaipur I take the overnight train to Delhi where I will stay for 6 days before I leave India for Hong Kong.







Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Silver UrnsSilver Urns
Silver Urns

Supposedly the largest crafted silver objects in the world. At Jaipur City Palace Museum.
View from the Monkey TempleView from the Monkey Temple
View from the Monkey Temple

The Monkey Temple gets its name from all the monkeys that live there. At least thats what the guide book sais. Its probably one of those tourist nicknames.


1st November 2009

Hi
Jennifer, you look very pretty in the Saree. What is the significant of the Saree? I see some Indian women wearing it here in the US, but others do not. I always wondered about that. I hope you are enjoying yourself!! take care, Aunt Nancy

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb