Yeah it's been a while...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
October 31st 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Happy Halloween, All. Oh and before I forget, I hear that a certain team won a certain World Series...I cant believe I missed this. I wasn't in Evanston to gloat in front of all those Cubs fans. But alas, sacrifices must be made. Anyway, Yay Sox.

While you've all been cheering (or booing, depending on where your loyalties lie) the Sox, I've been keeping myself busy on my side of the world.
Took a 2-day trip a couple weeks ago with some friends to the Taj Mahal, Fatepur Sikri (the ruins of a Mughal palace), and a world-famous bird sanctuary at Bharatpur. The Taj was just as white and beautiful as in postcards, which was a pleasant surprise. Tho as far as many of the Indian tourists were concern, my friends and I were the main attractions, what with being real live Americans and all. I think I agreed to take pictures with like 10 groups of people. My face is plastered in living rooms across India.
Fatepur Sikri was actually really interesting too, and we found a knowledgable tourguide who spoke very good English and threw in just enough Hindi to keep us on our toes. We then made our way to Bharatpur, where a friend of my friend's hostfather (did you get all that?) is the Chief of Police. Due to the way the politics of the police department work here, we were VERY well taken care of. The 5 of us were put up in the Police Guesthouse for just 200 rs. total (that's less than $1 per person), and treated to an elaborate 4-course meal at a very fancy hotel restaraunt. The food was good, however they refused to spice it at all, seeing as we were White and all, and we couldnt convince them that we actually LIKE spicy food.
The Bird Sanctuary at Bharatpur was amazing, especially since we were also treated to an incredibly knowledgable tourguide who had been studying birds for 25 years or so, and knew all the common names of the different species in 4 different languages.

So that was that. All in all, a successful weekend. The next week, 7 of us students spent 6 days living in a Sufi dargah in an urban village in Delhi. Sufiism, of "whirling dervish" fame, is the mystic sect of Islam. We learned Qawalli music and ended up attending our quawalli teacher's son's performance, which was sort of an outdoor Indian lip-synching contest until the Qawalli started. It was televised. They called our group of students up on stage. Being foreign really makes one famous in this place.

This past weekend was also a good one. Went to McDonalds (yay McAloo Tikki Burger!) and shopping with my hostsister on Saturday. Yesterday I went St. Xaviers for Catholic Mass, which was both very similar and kind of different from American Mass. I'm not much of a Mass person, generally, but I was interested to see what it's like here. The biggest difference was probably the guys outside the church selling sandalwood rosaries and glow-in-the-dark Jesus statues. Mass itself was nice, they sang some songs I knew. They don't do the handshake of peace here, they do the Namashkar of peace (pressing palms together and bowing). Overall, it was a pleasant experience. After Mass there was a chai-and-samosa social, and I introduced myself to the Pastor, who as it turns out, went to Loyola in Chicago for Seminary School. Who knew. He introduced me to some other parishoners, including a 27 year old young woman named Vigi who is applying to Med school in the US. We lit candles together in front of the Virgin Mary, she bought me a little Mother Theresa statue, and gave me a ride home. We're friends now.

So much going on right now. Classes are winding down, finals are arriving, and I'm panicking just a little because my Hindi is horrible. The Independent Study portion of our program begins next Tuesday. My plan is to teach a theatre workshop at a school in Varanasi, where the kids will adapt American children's literature into Indian children's performance. Still trying to hammer out the details and logistics. I'll keep you posted.

Now I must go attempt to throw together some semblance of a Halloween costume for our class party tonight. Then tomorrow is Diwali, the Hindu equivalent of Christmas, in terms of popularity of holidays. All the houses are all lit up and fireworks are already going off. I think I'll don my green Varanasi-silk sari. We shall see.

Again, Thank you so much for your comments and emails, you have no idea how comforting it is to hear from people from home. I miss you all!



Advertisement



1st November 2005

I love reading your entries...And it is good to know that the Southside Irish have worldwide connections!!! It sounds like you are really learning a lot and enjoying yourself. Stay safe.
1st November 2005

taj
"The Taj," it sounds like you live India or something. And you have no idea how many times I had to reread "I went to St. Xaviers for Catholice Mass." I thought you were talking about being home and I almost jumped out of my chair. p.s. I'm wearing my Varanasi-silk sari right now too, what a kawinky-dink. Love you.
1st November 2005

aaaaaaah!
I STILL MISS YOU! NO REALLY! COME HOME! I NEED AN ANNE HUG! :) But seriously, I'm so glad you're doing all this stuff. It's good for your brain. Katie and I are trying to think of American stories for you to adapt: Paul Bunyan, Sacajewea, Pecos Bill (he was a cowboy that rode a coyote and had a rattle snake for a lasso, google him), Johnny Appleseed, Pocahontas, Bonnie and Clyde, hey! The first Thanksgiving! They should re-enact the first Thanksgiving because it's coming up...y'know. Indians. OR X-MEN. HAVE THEM ACT OUT THE X-MEN SAGAS.
2nd November 2005

It's weird typing "Steven"
I hope you don't mind that I passed along bits and pieces of your blog to my theology teacher, Mr. Albanese, who read some of it to the class. I gave him the parts that had to do with religion. We just finished studying Hinduism and now we're moving on to Buddhism. Your experiences weren't exactly pertinent but we're probably not going to get to the chapter in our book on Jainism so it was nice for the class to have a small glimpse into it. Mr. Albanese liked your style of humor. As do I. Your stories are out of control. I can't believe you're my sister. I'm so proud of you. Keep on keepin' on. -Steven
3rd November 2005

also...
Is McDonald's really, honestly, truly called "McAloo?"
4th November 2005

Aww
How cute, i didnt know Steve had a sister.
6th November 2005

Hi!
Hey Annie, I'm so glad you're having such a good time in India. That's just amazing. The internet is an awesome creation. And that's just amazing what you're doing. And everything will be all right. I hope school isn't too crazy. You make it. Amazing. Can you upload pictures on your journal? I'd really love to see them. Well, yeah later

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb