Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bikaner
March 3rd 2012
Published: March 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday 02 March

I sleep ok but even in India the mobile reigns and bollywood music would wake the dead as well as me.

I set my alarm for 05.15 as we due in at 05.45 all the other passengers but 1 has gone and he tells me we are on time , I don't know how he knows.

I stagger to the loo to see the shutter down between the coaches - so no chai wallah this morning. Its water and a packet of bisguits plus a wurthers for breakfast

We arrive - out on to the platform and into the darkness of Lalgarh Junction. I feel like a water buffalo as I am surrounded by rick drivers pulling me this way and that "where to sir" they all shout. 100 - 80 - 60 rupees is shouted as I keep walking to where I know not. I settle for 50 Rups and off we go. The morning is chilly in shorts and teeshirt and the dust is clear in the headlights as we speed into the darkness . We stop as he picks up a young boy an extra 10 rups for him a local would not pay more.

We arrive at Marudhar Heritage Hotel. In reception they all asleep on the floor behind the desk. I get a deluxe single for 500 rupees from the half asleep man. My room is ok and whats more HOT water, a shower the first thing done before its gone, then a couple of hours sleep.

I go for a shave and then have some breakfast in a cafe in the main street, what passes for an omlette honey toast and chai

I take a short walk round the streets and then take a rick to Junagarh Fort and on the way we stop at the a railway crossing in the middle of town as a coal trains goes through this does not stop both walkers and motorbikes ducking under the barrier.

I take a guided tour and learn about the local Marharaja.

The fort is impressive money was not a problem as he had his own plane.

Back into town and to but some sweets. Bikaner is famous for sweets and i try some Kaju Katli made from cashew nuts. The man has to send someone toget it and it comes in a silver box - he tells that it is very eoensive and only for special occasions. Its good 400 rups a kilo well i suppose thats expensive here. By now I have drawn a crowd as is the norm for outsiders and then an old man places a rubber mouse on the counter and then on me and must see it on camera.

Later on a walk the old town for hours round the small alleyways and again always amazed at the variety of shops and busineses stalls. I cannot find my way back - Rough Guide said getting lost is a part of the experience and they were right



Thats me done for the day slumber calls


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb