Ma cherie Pondy..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Pondicherry
February 13th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There were many things said about 'Pondy' before I arrived in this unknown territory, like much of India to me. I tried not to let these preconceptions effect my own perspective. The one thing that was relayed and stuck in my mind is that it is a former French colony, so I was expecting, to some extent, for this to be reflected in the architecture. As for anything else I wasn't sure of, and my only view of France is from the misguided television or pictorial Wikipedia.

It was true. The buildings have obvious influence from the French. They were mostly white and clean, as were the streets. Bearing in mind this is in the tourist side of the canal. A French Canadian guy we met there called Guillame (William) told us the story of the canal division. The canal, by the way, looked like a close replica to those in Amsterdam, except the ones in Amsterdam are full of water and smell clean. So, India is still very evident in this pretty little state. Beyond the tourist side of the canal is the dark side, the partition where it's poorer and locals work hard to preserve the capital ensuing clean side. Already there is a sense of politics here, but we didn't see much of the darker side.

One thing that astounded me was the amount of white French people, either tourists, residents or travellers, set up in cafes, restaurants and bars. It was strange to see local Pondy Indians to be speaking some French too. But the place does rely on it's tourism so it's a given really.

Just outside of Pondicherry is a place or area called Auroville. It is an experimental township where men & women can live in harmony, above politics, all creeds & nationalities. When on the beach in Pondicherry (which is now called Puducherry meaning 'New Town') there was a reflection of Auroville. Opposite the sea was this wood-gated development, where pal trees flourished high above the wall. A few of us friends split up so me & a few ended up in this little sect. It was surreal to see many Americans & mixed nationalities sat, in harmony, in circles, dreadlocked and banging drums lightly. No smoking or drinking allowed.

And this is something I've never heard of before. It made me realise how huage the world is and how little I know about it. Already, I am planning my next destination. But in terms of Pondicherry, it was a welcome change, almost a holiday away from real India.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb