Exploring the crafts of Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 22nd 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to Dilli Haat yesterday, - a market that sells regional handicrafts, and apart from picking up some lovely little pearls and deciding that I must visit Hydrabad - the pearl capital of India, it was a good preview for the Delhi Craft Museum. The museum is an absolutely amazing place, time whizzed by, in fact I spent so long sketching the museum guard came over and as a “special favour’ he said I was allowed to take photos, he was quite alarmed which I said I would rather sketch!

The entrance was eerie, I entered a large empty black room with a clicking fan filled with dark wood sculptures; some with two heads, rabid dogs with lolling tongues and bared teeth, horse headed humans and big bosomed women. I soon found my way to the jewellery, brocade weaving and embroidery collection - much more my scene and was immersed in the colours, designs, and flora/ fauna patterns. Then to my delight I realised the stalls outside all had genuine! (this is India) craftmakers so I spent a happy afternoon chatting about all the different techniques from West Bengali Katha Embroidery, blockprinting from Rajasthan to miniature paintings.

After I’d torn myself away from the stalls and run from the rather lecherous crochet man!, I walked along to the National Museum via India Gate and gardens filled with cricketers (oh they love a game of cricket over here), families having picnics, lovers and a party of Japanese tourists. Unfortunately the jewellery section was under renovation with no date for it to be reopened, so I sat in the foyer and read my book until it was time to visit Nina Sood and family. I spent a lovely few hours chatting away planning my trip, listening to the current gossip and munching on delicious date cake.

In the evening, I packed and got ready for my travels up north, a little nervous at the prospect but excited all the same.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb