Day 27


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
June 29th 2011
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning I photocopied my worksheets I made last night, and they turned out to be a great success! I decided to make sure the right colours were used, so attempted to demonstrate how the different colours related to the different words. For example, the first word was "sunny" and I left a space for them to draw a sun, and wrote yellow, red and orange on the board. It was increasingly difficult to get the kids to understand that they should use the colours I had written to colour in the different words, but make up their own pattern, rather than just copying the example I had made!
Some of the boys eventually got the hang of it, but they mostly asked me everytime they started colouring another letter, for fear of getting it wrong I suppose. I think my second class' english is actually improving! A couple of them managed to make their own sentences, and ask for a pencil properly! I was so pleased, the best bit was when they were asking each other for the ruler, and saying "thank you" and "you're welcome" to each other!
The girls were not quite as quick off the mark, and some still have to hear me say each individual word and repeating them, but they are getting there I hope!
I had another sleepy lunchtime, and went through each colour with the girls in the afternoon, to make sure they understood all the different colours including the difference between "light" and "dark" they could just about find me the right colours by the end of the lesson! At this point I was hoping that I wouldn't get seven kids in my last lesson, as I had underestimated, and only had 6 sheets left! I thought I was in luck when only 3 girls showed up, but unfortunately 4 showed up ten minutes later! I managed to improvise an extra sheet, luckily! I found it funny that the 15-18 year old boys in my first class wanted to do "drawing" so badly, as I can't imagine English boys of that age being particularly interested in doing colouring! They all loved it anyway, and funnily enough, the girls took forever drawing the pictures and colouring in the writing, and didn't want to let me pack up at the end of the day!
We all successfully met at the office today, and went for a trip to Sarojini Market, for Indian style clothes for Kristina (my new roommate) and Vikki the new volunteer. I managed to buy some new clothes too!
We encountered some Eunuchs on the auto journey back to C9, which was a strange experience. Apparently it is common for them to hang around the traffic lights and demand money off people waiting at the lights...
It really doesn't feel like a Wednesday today, and I find myself wishing it was Friday already! Hopefully tomorrow will go well!
I have uploaded some photos from today and yesterday, including some of the streams we had to drive through on the way back from Zakhira.
Namaste


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb