Opening your eyes to a new culture (week 3?)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 15th 2011
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I AM IN INDIA and I LOVE IT. Everything is so disfunctional that it becomes functional, everything is so chaotic that it becomes normal. There are no road rules. There are no answering machines. There is no Indian equivelent to 911. Toilets are holes in the ground. Toilet paper has been replaced with water, eww, I've been having to carry my own paper and alot of hand sanitizer. Grocery stores are just carts on the street where you buy your fruits and vegetables. There are colors everywhere. The streets are filled with the largest dichotemy between wealthy buisinessmen and poor children beggars. It's completely acceptable and normal to litter on the ground, don't try to find a trash can it's just not going to happen.

I'm staying with my friend Ash in Delhi right now. Her cousin, Sandeep, is 23 and speaks english well. Her two aunties and three cousins live in this house. Her OTHER auntie and two other cousins come to visit often. By the way, it's completely normal to have 20 aunties and 20 uncles. You see, unlike in our culture, your parent's cousins are also you aunties and uncles, and their kids are your cousins. I'm never, ever alone. Every time I meet a new auntie, I get a loving hug. The kids have a great time (and a great laugh) trying to teach my hindi.

Guests are considered godly here. Therefore, It's an honor to feed your guests. Therefore, I am constantly being force fed. The food is absolutely amazing and I am always full to the point where I feel sick... not a good mix with the crazy, swirving driving. Every time you pray at a temple, you are offered holy food. This food is usually sweets. Sometimes it's straight up rock candy... they love sugar here. My dad probably has a subconcious nervous twitch every time I each or drink sugar which is 15 times a day. And you CAN'T say no to holy food. Here's a stupid question: Does holy food still make you gain weight? Stupid but extremely relevant and on my mind every time I eat it haha.

I am a very, very lucky girl. Ash's family is very deeply connected to an ashram here, and they are close friends with the famous Guru, Kant Mahara ji. Ash is considered VIP and I am allowed to follow her. I spent all day long with Mahara Ji yesterday; I went to his house and met his family. I went out to lunch with him... and, he bought me my tea boxes that I attempted to buy on my own at the grocery store. This is a very, very huge honor and a rare opportunity. There are thousands of people who would do anything to be in the room with this Guru, and here I am; some white girl who gets the opportunity by default. But, more and more, I understand that there are no accidents. Ash overheard the Guru telling someone else that I was internally spiritually strong. Maybe he is my Guru. Gurus pick their people, hopefully I am lucky enough to be picked. I would love to study with him before heading north to Dharamshala.

By the way, I am the only white person for miles around. It's rare and unexpected to see another white person. I had no idea that tourism was as rare as this. On the other hand, I'm not really hitting up the tourist spots. I've made many friends. They're all from India and they're all lovely.

A very beautiful temple , I can't recall the name




This is the beautiful golden temple:


Suku and Banu at the golden temple


The Taj Mah Hall


I wish I could remember the name of this palace, it's a long name!!


view from the palace:


A typical Indian Village:




Kant Maraha ji and his wife


and his grandchildren


Ash and I




Advertisement



17th January 2011

Omg B you look gorgeous. Yes I don't think I would do well in a secretive culture either, but I would LOVE to be around that ARCHITECTURE (not to mention food)! Sounds absolutely perfect that you found this guru and are learning from him, hop on board! Love you have fun!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb