Caucasian Beauty!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So who knew that the Indians, men and woman alike, love a little pampering? Not me - that’s for sure! But given that we live in the Sandhurst of New Delhi, I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised or assumed that the ‘local’ beauty parlour would be dead! Nor should I have assumed that because I was headed for a pedicure that I couldn’t in fact get my hair cut and blow-dried in the same place?!?! Yip, these ‘technicians’ are multi-talented (can’t vouch for their training) in all the skills of plucking, bleaching, waxing, threading, trimming, blow-drying, painting, scrubbing, tinting, straightening - you name it, they can do it! And the joint was packed but I’m sure you’ll ALL be surprised to hear that I was the only white face in there.

I must say I was a little surprised when I ventured up the stairs that indicated “Beauty Parlour” and landed up on the first floor of men only. So a little confused at this point, I asked the most important looking dude (the one sitting doing nothing) if I could please have a pedicure. While pointing, he grunted something that sounded like “second floor”. So with a sheepish grin I thanked him (MORON!) and headed upstairs and opened the door to a 1950’s salon. A single row of old, school chairs (fixed to the ground) facing a long line of mirrors. On entering I was greeted by Angelina (thank goodness, an easy & pronounceable name at last!) who assured me they could do a pedicure. Now bear in mind I had no appointment but this seems ok here, no planning needed - it’s the Indian way after all! She ushered me to a chair at the end of the row, the only one open at this stage, and asked me to sit down.

While she scuttled off to get her goodies, I noticed the girl next to me was having her head dowsed in oil and more alarmingly, she was just sitting in her bra and jeans! Now I understood why the men are quarantined to their own floor! The oil baptism then turned into what looked like an awesome head, neck and shoulder massage. The only bummer was that there was ZERO ambience. Kind of a challenge with the music screaming in Hindi, lots of girlie chatter and don’t forget the constant drone of the blow-dryers!

Angelina soon returned carrying, yes carrying, a MASSIVE tub of hot water - had to weigh at least 10kg! She then placed it on the fixed footrest of the chair and I’m thinking: “is thing going to balance here?” She then held tight and asked me to pop my feet inside, quickly arranging them so that they were evenly placed - I was now responsible for keeping this tub from falling, so much for ‘relax and enjoy’!!! So after a period of soaking she then hoisted it onto the floor and began the clipping, filing, exfoliating etc. At one point she asked if my ankles were swollen... sadly I had to say “no” and explain that I was not blessed with delicate, Indian-like ankles but rather the cankles of my ancestors - I’m all Jamieson! She looked enormously surprised but (love this) not the slightest bit embarrassed at having asked the question. Hats off to her and all other Indians for their candour - Ha ha ha!

So while this was all going on - the usual pedi stuff that is - I was watching the girls around me. Ever seen someone have their forehead threaded? I have! Ever seen 2 people blow-dry a customer’s hair? One manipulating the brush and the other the dryer? I have! Ever seen a lady have her arms waxed? I have! I kept getting funny looks (more than usual) and I can only guess its cause my eyes were like saucers and I had a slight smirk/grin on my face! This was hysterical - love it!

Then the point came for painting (REALLY good pedi by the way!) and she brought the colours for me to choose from. I selected and she placed my feet on the stool she was sitting on. “Ok”, I thought “and where are you going to sit?” But she then just squatted right there, at my feet, and started painting. Have ANY of you tried to do any fine motor tasks while statically squatting for a good 10 minutes!!!! Oh my hat, that was impressive! And they all do it. I can only assume (tut tut) that it’s because they do not want to sit on the floor so would rather sit on their haunches - just incredible!

Once she was done, I thanked her and she handed me the slip to go and pay in the “Gents” section. So I waddled down, trying not to scuff the paint, and handed the MORON my slip. He grunted “200 rupees”. I had to ask him to say it again for two reasons, I didn’t quite get it and I could not believe the price. A little annoyed he repeated the price. Thinking I had heard correctly I handed him Rs500 (just in case) and when he gave me the Rs300 change, I couldn’t quite believe that I had just paid R32 for a 60 minute pedicure! BARGAIN! And more importantly, this will become part of my routine in Delhi along with manicures, massages, threading (eyebrows only), blow-drying etc! LOVE a bit of pampering! Great Delhi Day!

(Pity I did not have my camera with me but then I would have possibly been arrested should I have taken pics!)


Advertisement



5th February 2010

You 'caucasian' clown!!!
Hey there you clown!! Your blogs are SO funny...I've tried to mail you but think my mail got lost in the Indian communication system..or maybe in the AFrican system, which is more likely!! Your Indian life sounds like great fun....have you got a tan yet? And some Henna tattoos just to blend in?? Life here is still the same..the clients are getting more weird by the day....i've had to direct about 5 clients to our place, and dont ask how, I HAD to call them cause they did not want to use their phone credit...and one I had to go and fetch!! Where in your life???!!!!! So you're seriously missing out on tending to the transporting of the clients as well... Still hecticly busy...I dont see Liesel often, as a matter of fact, I've not seen her since Christmas....so for all I know she could be in India as well!!!! I'm waiting for a client right this moment, so if my mail becomes rudely interrupted I had to go back to the salt mines!! Have you found a job yet? Or is harder work NOT having a job, and to instead, remain sane and pure English, with all that Indian influence? Take care Off i go! lowinda
5th February 2010

Love it
I would spend everyday in there, what a great find!
5th February 2010

That sure beats costs in dear old England. Sounds like loads more fun as well!!
5th February 2010

Oh, my aching feet!
What a hoot! I hope they have some special massages for my aching feet. Its the one thing that bothers me about the forthcoming trip to India. I so enjoy the blogs, Meg. Please keep them coming. Love, Jo
7th February 2010

wow
well this is turning out to be a most unusual time in your life - make sure you take me to see everything! You MUST arrange for Joanne to go she will love it !! what about the fish pedi - have you done that yet? love you my darling

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb