Friends in Foreign Places...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I arrived in India! I woke up to the see the sunrise and it was so gorgeous! It took forever to get off the ship because if immigration. I was signed up for a trip with semester at sea to fly to Delhi. I didn't end up gettin goff the ship until 3:00 with the whole group. Our flight to Delhi was delated a little due to turbulence. We arrived in Delhi just fine. When we were walking out of the airport I felt like cattle in a cattle herd. We all walked out between these gates and there were poeple on both sies of us just staring...It was kind of awkward but what can you do. We took a bus to our hotel and when we walked through the door we got a necklace of marigolds but around us. Which is a symbol of respect. Then the next thing I know my best friend from back home Mallory Betz(for those of you who don't know her) jumped out of nowhere. She has been working here for around 2 months volunteering at an orphanage. i had hoped that we would see each other but I wasn't expecting to see her so soon!! I almost started crying I was so happy, my whole body was shaking. I left the SAS group right then and there and left with Mal and who two friends Aashish and Sumalani, from Delhi. We went and got some really good Indian food and then went to their apartment. Thier parents were very friendly and hospitable. Mal and I stilllc an't believe that we are to here together, but it is so great! She is going to take me to the Taj Mahal and then I am going to go to the orphange she volunteers at to meet allof the boys there. In a few days I will meet back with SAS to fly back to Chennai! I will keep you updated on how everything goes! All my love! Tiana

Advertisement



10th March 2006

te echo de menos!
T i miss you and i love hearing about what you are doing once again! you better be taking lots of pictures!! i just saw a really good band that is from seattle and they are brand new, nobody knows about them yet and youwould love them...ill give you their cd when you get home...but youve got plenty of other things to look forward to until then, anywho live it up hasta luego
10th March 2006

I got on!!!
Hey T - I got on the blog!! Just got off the phone with you and it's so great to hear your voice! I miss it so!! Big Hugs to Mal - and Her mother sends hugs to both of you too! (I forgot to tell you that on the phone). Have fun and take lots of photos of the 2 of you! xoxoo Mom
11th March 2006

Meeting Toe in Mexico
TT---Your Momma was here for dinner---she has been working so hard. I want you to know that I am leaving to join Toren in Jalapa where she is river rafting. She is traveling with Shelby who she met on her outward bound trip. Shleby's mom is meeting in meico city--- and then we take a 4 hr bus trip to meet the girls. Sounds like the Cadacis trip, huh? Anyway, Toren and I arrive home on the 18th--and she is leaving for Montana to take a Wilderness Response course---and then off the Boulder for May semester. Phew! Busy girl just like you. I so enjoy reading about all your adventures. You must show me all the treasures you have found along the way. Continued safe travels to you. xoxoxo Cathy
11th March 2006

I am off the meet Toe in Mexico
TT---I tried to write you a few minutes ago, but it did not seem to work. If it did work, you get two! All is good here---a little snow tonight. Your momma came for dinner. I am leaving Sunday to meet Toren in Jalapa where she is rivfer rafting with Shelby (her mom is meeting me in Mexico City---and then a 4 hr bus trip for us. Just like Cadaciz---Hope you are having a wonderful time. I want to see all your treasures----Hope the rest of your trip is perfect in everyway! xoxox Cathy

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb