Watched Bluff Master !!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 15th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 7am and decided to put around in Connaught Place area which never happened….went to a nearby internet place did my emailing and blog work….went to Pahar Ganj gave my clothes to be washed…..

Geez it costs INR10/= for denims and t-shirts, INR7/= for socks and underwear, I couldn’t get myself to pay 7 bucks for socks so decided to wash them myself…

Ended up emailing for another 2 hours in PG and went back as I had promised to meet Rekha’s to go for a movie.

Went to the cinema with Rekha and one of her friend’s called Pankaj (hope the spelling is right) he is in charge of a radio station in Delhi.

The local cinema is a multiplex (there are 2 of them in Noida) and looks absolutely fabulous. It’s situated in a shopping mall and the place was packed. To find a parking slot we had to drive a bit passing the mall.

Even the handout which contains the currently showing movies looks marvellous. My thoughts are the reason that in SL we cannot have this is probably because the movie going population is so small that we probably cannot sustain the cost of such quality. The population in Delhi is half of SL’s entire population.

Since we were early we went to this restaurant / pub whose theme was F1 racing for a drink / bite. The prices I felt were higher than SL however it had the best garlic bread and cheese I have had. For the first time I saw a girl in Salwar Kameez smoking…I guess it looked a little awkward for me because I have always associated Salwar with the more conservative Indian.

Wedding crashers and the Fog was also on. However they were on quite late so decided to watch “The Bluff Master”, Priyanka Chopra and Abhishek Bachchan.

Ms. Chopra is indeed quite fine…

It was a cool; not the usual running around the bushes template movie…apparently it has been copied by “The Majestic Men” English movie. Innovation is not something us South Asians believe in I suppose.

The cinema exit leads you right in to the food court…wonder why? Its amazing in spite of Noida been away from Delhi still attracts labels like Nike in to their shopping malls….I guess this is evidence of how much buying power people in these parts have. Furthermore, it seems that India is quite self sustainable. There is sufficient purchasing power among the locals to spur economic growth. On the other hand there is a whole lot of poverty too; the side that we don’t see too often.

This is my last night at Rekha’s as I am planning to go to get my Hungarian visa and go to Amritsar tomorrow night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb