First day in Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 10th 2005
Published: October 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On the flight to Delhi I met a guy called Dave who worked for the BBC, they were doing a special on India for BBC news. Nice bloke. Didn’t get any sleep on the plane, a little apprehensive.

Landed in New Delhi airport. Taxi driver from Hare Krishna guesthouse was waiting for me. I walked out of the airport and the humidity hit me. Taxi was falling apart, rusty and no seat belts. Journey into Pharganj was extreme, lots of poverty. Auto rickshaws, taxis, coaches, cows, monkeys and people all moving in different directions on the same road. It was chaotic. Stopped at traffic lights, a young woman, 16/18 holding a naked baby was asking for spare change, this would be a common occurrence in Delhi.

The Hare Krishna guesthouse is a shithole but what can you expect for 4 pounds a night! I wouldn’t recommend it. Pharganj is in the main Bazaar, it’s polluted, congested and full of persistent touts.

Took off and decided to go for a walk. Straight away I get "spotted", guy seems very friendly, we talk and he takes me to an "Official tourist centre", bollocks... I walk out and try to find my way back. I get pestered 4/5 times on the way back to the guesthouse. A young lad who spoke good English said I should dress like Gandhi... I think I'll give that a miss.

Ate Vegetable Talhi for lunch. Nice but filling. Cost 350rs, in hindsight that’s very expensive. On average I've been spending 100rs (around 1.50) for a very good meal.

After lunch the guy who recommended the restaurant (owned the Internet cafe) was waiting outside, he invited me to his office and we had a Chai. He tried to sell me tickets to Kashmir, no thanks. Insisted it was safe, yeah right. He showed me all of the people who had been on his trip, lots of lone travelers - easy picking. There was a mouse in his office; he called it Goggles... nice.

In the evening I tried to look for some new threads so I didn’t stand out . Internet guy took me to a clothes stall in the backstreets, sat around with some natives and had Chai, there was a loud American with them who was praising Kashmir... it all seemed like an act. He took down my sizes; a shirt and trousers were 500rs, 200rs deposit. Paid the deposit.

In the evening I tried to look for some new clothes so I didn’t stand out . Internet guy took me to a clothes stall in the backstreets, sat around with some natives and had Chai, there was a loud American with them who was praising Kashmir... it all seemed like an act. He took down my sizes; a shirt and trousers were 500rs, 200rs deposit. Paid the deposit.

Went back to the guesthouse and ate, met an American girl who was finishing her trip. Exhchanged stories. Went to bed but didnt sleep as the TV was too loud. Decided to leave Delhi...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb