Intro to Indian traffic


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 27th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moving on to India today. Go down to breakfast and say my goodbyes to everyone, it’s been really nice the last week as a lot of us have sat together on one long table. It’s a real mish-mash of nationalities with English (me), Swedish, German and Japanese. We don’t understand each other all the time but I have plenty of new email addresses in my book.
Leave at 8.45 for the drive to the airport. On the way the driver suddenly pulls up at the side of the road and gets out. We’re at a temple and he puts some money in a slot, says a quick prayer and then jumps back into the car and we set off again! On the way we also pass a school graduation, with a band playing and procession. At the airport the first thing I see is….a Buddhist shop selling Buddha pennants!!!!!!!!! At the airport a group of 10 - 12 Indian women sit next to me, on either side of me. There are plenty of other seats but they just want to have a good stare at me. Every time I get something out of my bag they all lean over me to get a good look. This is an introduction to what it will be like in India! Fly to Delhi and arrive at 6pm. eventually get to the hotel at 8pm! Airport and hotel both in Delhi, that’s how bad the traffic is! The traffic will be the main thing I remember about Delhi. Its crazy, but its difficult to put across what its like, its something you will only understand if you’ve experienced it. Basically if you have 2 lanes there will be at least 4 cars across, plus a couple of motorbikes, maybe a cow and cart and a bicycle. And they don’t obey anything. Red light? If there’s no-one in front of you, why wait?? Crossing? Blast your horn and those pesky pedestrians will just have to chicken run across the road. It’s hilarious! I thought I’d be more scared or jumpy, but after Sri Lanka I must be getting used to it. Oh and the best way to get ahead in the traffic is to straddle two lanes, then you can either overtake or undertake depending on which is quicker! After a grilling from the man who brings me an adaptor plug....how old am I? Where am I from? Am I married? Why not?..... I have an early night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb