I don't want to read about yoga


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 18th 2017
Published: October 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_20171022_133658IMG_20171022_133658IMG_20171022_133658

A lovely gift, if you like reading about yoga
Just an interesting little story that i forget to blog. We are in Delhi airport about to go off to Rishikesh and Shenton buys me a gift that he believes I would really enjoy. It is a book called Adiyoga (the source of yoga) Though at this time he is not sure about giving it to me now as when he was buying it a man started a conversation with him and said that the book was a wonderful book and it was capable of helping someone seeking spirituality and inner peace and at this point in the conversation I appeared and without realising Shenton was talking with someone and seeing the book in his hand I said, "What's that?" He says its a book for you about yoga, I then said "Don't get that, I don't want to read about yoga!" I was feeling a bit grumpy, the beast within.

Shenton's mouth dropped open a little and he turned towards the man and said shrugging that he would buy it anyway. Shenton had told the man before i arrived that he would buy the book for his lovely wife who loved to practice yoga whenever she could. He said she found Yoga inspirational and this would be a special gift for her . The man just watched as Shenton walked past me to the cashier and said nothing, oops!

Shenton is now reading the book and he is really enjoying reading it, he keeps telling me small parts of it, he has just told me that the 'God' Rudra was given the title of Lord Pashupati, lord of all animals, hence recognising that Adiyoga or Rudra is the lord or re-trainer of all beastial passions within us. Maybe he is the one that the temple we visited in Delhi is dedicated to, hence why there were so many statues of animals within and around the temple. Also he was given the bull Nandi and this was Adiyoga's vehicle. Ruder, Adiyoga was given the title Pashupati by Brahma

Anyway not sure he is going to gift me the book now....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb