Skills I've acquired while living in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Qutub Minar
August 17th 2017
Published: May 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Living in India is not always easy (who am I kidding its NEVER easy) BUT its nearly impossible to live here without learning to "man up." Here is a list of skills I have acquired thanks to my wonderful life here in India. I will say that none of these skills are things I would have thought I'd have when I was a kid, but here they are!



1) How to successfully eat all types of food (including rice) with my HANDS! 😊

2) How to squat in the bathroom and remained balanced enough that I do not need to TOUCH ANYTHING for balance (trust me, in India being able to not touch anything while in the bathroom is an EXTREMELY useful asset.)

3) How to wear a sari!

4) How to party/dance like an Indian (Lots of throwing feet in the air for men and lots of hand waving for women hehe)

5) How to haggle with street vendors/argue with Auto drivers

6) How to use Jugaad to get anything done 😉

7) How to make Indian Chai (tea) Yum!

8) How to jump from one elephant to another (Don't Ask haha)

9) How to pray inside Hindu temples

10) How to shower with a bucket of water and a cup

11) How to dodge traffic and oncoming cars (P.S pedestrians DO NOT have the right away...)

12) How to survive the extreme weather (Don't go outside in the daytime in Delhi! :P)

13) How to keep my calm in frightening situations

14) How to appreciate the little things (Finding a can of Pizza pringles and a Gatorade! Woo!!!)

15) How to handle mobs of people trying to capture a photo of me "sneakily" (Talk to the hand! :P)

16) How to use breathing for meditations

17) How to walk BAREFOOT and continue walking for 22km even after my feet are covered in blisters and blood and sores and I'm limping continuously for hours

18) How to push my body and mind beyond its comfort limits

19) How to survive without....wait for it...Toilet paper *screams*

20) How to not take life so seriously and simply LAUGH 😊

That's my list for now, there are many others to add but I want to hear from YOU what are some skills YOU'VE acquired while living in India! 😊 Please check out my facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/IndiaWithKrystal

and tell me your list of SkIllS!!! 😊



Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com

And follow my Instagram and Facebook Page! https://www.instagram.com/kryskolumbustravel/ & https://www.facebook.com/krystalkelly009/

Advertisement



24th May 2013

Auto Skills
How to pile and balance more than 3 people in an auto!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb