An Aside...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra
October 1st 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

An aside: A good friend alerted me today to an inaccuracy in my previous blog. I stated that many of the city name changes in India took place just after independence from the British Empire. I should have checked Wikipedia first, I guess, as Madras was only renamed Chennai in 1996 and, as Wikipedia states in Mumbai's case, "the English name was officially changed to Mumbai in November 1995. This came at the insistence of the Marathi nationalist Shiv Sena party that had just won the Maharashtra state elections and mirrored similar name changes across the country. A theory was proposed suggesting that "Bombay" was a corrupted English version of "Mumbai" and an unwanted legacy of British colonial rule."

Oh well, I guess you can't get them right all the time. Just so you don't feel you've wasted this visit to my blog, here's a sneak peek at a photograph of me taken after I was blessed during the Ganesha festival. Read all about it soon...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb