The Beginning - Urge to Hibernate 2012


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was a chaotic half year since my South India and Goa Trips... A reconnection with myself was desperately called for. Only Himalaya could save me.

I soon started exploring several options. At least a week of peaceful trek in the laps of Himalaya was on agenda. Leave planning, fiscal pinch, bookings, training, packing... Gosh! So much to look into.

I was really excited to take it head on. Where do I begin? Where do I begin?

But where am I going? Oh Yes, I need to decide where to go in the first place!

As Paulo Coelho quotes "When you want something, the entire universe conspires in helping you to achieve it." I believed this principle since childhood, however, first time saw it coming true with an invitation from Youth Hostels West Bengal for Sandakphu Trek on Facebook.

A colleague, who is a native of Darjeeling, had always mentioned that this is one of the best treks in North East. Having seen the photos on internet, this became a member on my “need to visit” list.

A lot of times, I have been criticized for having travelled without informing interested people, so decided to ask a colleague-friend who was sailing in same boat. She was not sure about North East as she wanted to hit Garhwal region. Right then, my best friend, Facebook came to my help. I messaged some of my trekking buddies. For quite some time there was only silence.

So, it seemed like I was going alone. Ok! So this is it. But then again, the same principal applied here... And another trekking buddy Prajakta, replied to my invitation. Like me, she too wanted to get some bliss of nature’s beauty.

With total enthusiasm, I shared the itinerary with her. We downloaded the forms, filled them up and then it was time to send them.

And, the first hurdle made its entry; my blood pressure didn't mark to the required level. On that fateful day, the doctor denied to issue me a medical certificate & advised to make necessary dietary changes and get some drips.

Well, a trek in Himalayas always calls for a healthy nutrition and a harder training. Ok, so there I was a weak person who has an ENTIRE MONTH to correct health and get going. Entire month on hand to work on myself was something far better than good news. Other doctor issued me the certificate, and we registered for the Sandakphu Trek.

Though it was a bit late, Praj took care of all the train bookings.

Then, with a settling mind, I went to work, only to find out that my leave application being rejected. I knocked the doors of management, and yet again my will won.

So now we are set... Patiently preparing for the departure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb