Day 15 - The Spice Plantation


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala
March 18th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our guide, Malik, spent about 90 minutes walking us round a beautiful and very tranquil plantation. I never realised that I could be so interested in different varieties of pepper, how many different spices came from the same trees and why different spices are so expensive. I also hadn’t realised how ignorant I was on the subject, of the few plants I thought I recognised I managed to identify Cocoa as Papaya and Vanilla as Aloa Vera!! Sachi did a bit better but she does have the advantage of coming from a country that actually uses spices in its cuisine.

After our brief but surprisingly entertaining tour it was time for our trip’s highlight. We were off to meet our Elephant!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

No idea at allNo idea at all
No idea at all

But it looks nice!
The BossThe Boss
The Boss

We bumped into the plantation owner out for a stroll collecting Pepper. She didn't say much but she did like to pose for photos!


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb